Need help with basics

Status
Not open for further replies.

pr4499

Cadet
Hi All,

Intro:
I'm new to FreeNAS, but I'm by no means a N00b, although I sure do feel like it writing this post as I am unable to even get the basics right. I have more experience with SIP servers and firewalls, but this is my first client that I've set up a NAS for. I have been running FreeNAS at home for a few years but I haven't really explored it.

Overview:
This client has 10 employees with varying needs.
The site is made up of almost all Macs except for 1 PC.
They want to use the PC with a scanner for their employees to scan documents and store them on the NAS.
The 2 owners should have full access to all files.
The other 8 staff members should have access to 3 folders.
The computer used for scanning should only be able to access the "scans" folder. I think it would be best for this computer to have its own user account instead of just allowing it via its IP or hostname, but I'm open to suggestions.

Problems:
I don't know whether the shares should be AFP or NFS. As we have the 1 PC, do I need to make it all NFS?
I can't see how it is possible to give certain access to some users but restrict access from others.
I don't know why the network shares are able to be found by browsing "Network" on a Windows PC, and sometimes only accessible by entering the IP in explorer.
And also the same with a Mac - sometimes it shows on the left panel of Finder, and sometimes I need to click "Connect to server" and enter its IP.

Terminology:
(please tell me if my NAS terminology understanding is correct)
Drives - the physical hard disk drives or solid state drives that are in the machine
Volumes - a group of drives combined to make one storage pool
Dataset - sort of like a "folder" where files are stored on the volume. There can be multiple datasets to achieve certain objectives (I'm not exactly sure what though).