NAS and Backup Philosophy

ComplexCarb

Dabbler
I'm setting up a NAS to sore my data on.

Right now I only have about 8TB of data... so I can keep a copy of it on my machine and on two USB externals that I store in a fire place safe and in a remote location.

I will soon not be able to use this method due to the total amount of data I have. (a. my pc will not have the storage to hold a copy, and my externals will not have the storage to hold copies... unless have 4 total externals to split the data into two total copies which seems like a nightmare)

So I'm going to build a NAS to store one full copy of my data on Raidz2 TrueNAS CORE (as well as cloud access/plex/etc). How do yall recommend having a backup of this NAS?

Do I now have to build another NAS to backup my main NAS and keep it offsite? How do yall do this? Do you just create a large bank of HDDs for a beefy external and store this offsite?

Bonus question... since I'm a NAS noob. What level of protection do I have if my NAS is physically stolen?

Cheers,
ComplexCarb

NugentS

MVP
Bonus answer - not much unless you have encrypted the pools

You can build another NAS, or use an online service - but that tends to be expensive. Or get together with a friend and put disks into each others NAS's and hope your home internet connectivity can survive the deltas (and the initial sync)

Remember the 3-2-1 backup principle. For each TB of source data you need (simplistically) 3 TB of disk (probably more)
"The 3-2-1 backup strategy simply states that you should have 3 copies of your data (your production data and 2 backup copies) on two different media (disk and tape) with one copy off-site for disaster recovery."

Arwen

MVP
Last question first. Lots of people that steal computer hardware want it for the hardware. So that if your NAS is stolen, it will likely to have the OS reloaded, wiping out any existing data. Or just sold for parts. Most thieves won't know about TrueNAS, ZFS, or even care about the data.