BUILD My FreeNAS build at the rear end of the earth

Status
Not open for further replies.

craigdt

Explorer
Ok so I was being politically correct with the title, it's not quite the exact quote a past Prime Minsister of Australia said, I would say the original quote is more accurate!

So I have been wanting to do a FreeNAS build for some time now, been putting it off due to the physical size of the machine and where to put it. I have been using a ReadyNAS NV+ for the last 5+ years but I want to stop using it as my main storage device because I discovered with some pain how dangerous it can be with just relying on it and not having a decent backup solution for it (fortunately I didn't lose any data).

Note this is for home use and I want to use the new NAS for the following reasons:
  • Store and serve media files to the HTPC and various other devices around the house. I plan on utilising the plex plugin and network shares.
  • Automatic downloading of media files using the plugins on offer with FreeNAS
  • Time Machine backup for 2 macs
  • Windows 7 backup for 2 PC's
  • Plan to process raw photos directly on the device if possible.
  • Use the FreeNAS encryption
  • The old ReadyNAS NV+ will then serve as the backup for the new NAS on a weekly basis
  • Might utilise the crashplan plugin for really valuable stuff if I feel the ReadyNAS is not up to the task.
Unfortunately I live in Australia so I'm limited on choice of components.

I have come up with the following two different list of components for my FreeNAS Build:

Version 1:
Lian Li PC-Z60 Case $258
Seasonic G-550W 80Plus Gold Power Supply $125
Intel S1200V3RPL Micro-ATX Motherboard $285
2x Kingston KVR16E11/8I 8GB 1600MHz ECC Unbuffered RAM $270
Intel Xeon E3 1270 V3 $395
6x Seagate Constellation CS SATA3 3TB HDD $1230
Total: $2563

Version 2:
Lian Li PC-Z60 Case (H:472, W:210, D:498) $258
Seasonic G-450W 80Plus Gold Power Supply $99
Supermicro X10SLM-F Motherboard $296