My First NAS / Home File Server Build - Anything missing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Revenge

Dabbler
Hey everyone :)

I've recently been looking into builds for when I hopefully move out at the end of the year. A NAS (well i've been told its more a File Server) is one of my main interests. I've never built one before, but I have been reading on the subject, and do have a friend who has one in his house atm (but its a stock built one).

So i've put together a list of hardware, and just want to make sure I'm not missing anything important. Take note that I'm not building a very large server. I've planned for possible upgrades in the future (in terms of MOBO, PSU and the Case), but for my uses, it doesn't need to be massive, and doesn't need to handle many simultaneous users (i plan to be in a household of 4-6 people, who won't very frequently be accessing the server from multiple devices). This isn't really designed as a backup server, more just for storing media for use with the other computers, and the HTPC in the house.

Heres the hardware I currently have in my list:

Motherboard - ASRock FM2A85X-ITX Motherboard - Link - 7 x SATA3, 3 x USB3.0, Gigabit LAN, 1 x PCI-E2.0 x 16
CPU - AMD A4 5300 2-Core Processor - Link - Dual Core 3.4Ghz (3.6GHz Turbo), 1MB Cache, TDP 65W, Socket FM2
CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-L9a - Link - 37mm high
Memory - Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance DDR3 - Link - 1600mhz
PSU - OCZ 700W Modular ATX - Link - Dual +12V Rail
Storage - 4 x Seagate Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001 - Link - 7200RPM, SATA3 6GB/S, 3.5", 64MB cache
Case - Fractal Design Define Mini - Link - 6 Pre-Fitted HDD Trays, 2 x 120mm fans, Fan Controller, USB3.0 Front Panel Support

All of this will be running off FreeNAS or NAS4Free (don't know which one is more recommended, and won't be researching them overly until I come to purchasing this), which will be booting off a 8GB USB Drive (Link)

Tell me what you guys think, and recommend anything that needs to be added/changed.