More information on SMBv1, NETBIOS, Win10, no shares, etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.

R.G.

Explorer
I found yet more info on why my network sharing went to ... er, heck when I followed the desperate warnings about SMBv1 being an open door for ransomware. I suspect that this confusing (to me, a networking user, not a cognoscenti) pile of overlapping and interacting issues is behind quite a few of the posts here and many places over the net.

A lot of it has to do with the fact that you have to go learn the innards of networking to understand how to play the game. Some history, too. I studied quite a few treatises on networking in general, FreeNAS and FreeBSD, NETBIOS, SAMBA, Windows vs Unix permissions, routers. Understanding didn't begin until I read this:
http://janbacon.blogspot.com/2015/04/disable-netbios-enable-dns-with-dd-wrt.html
It turns out that SAMBA shares can be based on NETBIOS or TCP. SMBv1 runs on NETBIOS only (if I read the stuff correctly) as does the network browsing function of Windows. Turning off SMBv1 disables network discovery of shares by NETBIOS. This ought to leave SMBv2 and up running just fine, discovering network shares by other means. In fact, if I understand it right, both NETBIOS discovery and the WSD and SSDP discoveries run a race and the first to report back a share is used to access that share. In my case, even with WSD and SSDP running and discovering all the other shares, my FreeNAS server is always discovered by NETBIOS.

I spent probably more than four hours trying to disable NETBIOS responses from FreeNAS before concluding that it was not possible or too hidden. I also looked for some way to make the >minimum< level of SMB be SMBv2. Never found it.