Mixing 4TB disks and a 3TB disk: what is the best option?

ciacnorris

Cadet
Hello, I'm preparing to set up my first TrueNAS Community system on an old N36L Microserver with 8GB RAM.

I have an old 3TB disk that I would like to use, and I can buy a couple of 4TB disks (their cost is more or less the same of the 3TB disks so they are the sweet spot on a price/space point of view).

The first option that comes to my mind is to use 3TB on each disk to creat a RAIDZ1, then use the remaining 1TB on the two 4TB hard drives to create a 1TB mirror. Is this configuration possible?

I have set up a TrueNAS installation in Virtualbox to test it but the system isn't allowing me to mix disks of different sizes in a pool. I'm a total noob so I don't understand if I'm missing some steps or this is just not possible.

If what I want to do is impossible, what would you suggest me, provided that I already have a 3TB drive, that I could buy 4TB drives and that the N36L has a total space for 4 drives (or 5, if I use a USB stick for the operating system)?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
The first option that comes to my mind is to use 3TB on each disk to creat a RAIDZ1, then use the remaining 1TB on the two 4TB hard drives to create a 1TB mirror. Is this configuration possible?

No, it's not possible, or at least very far outside the design. FreeNAS generally assumes each disk is a component of a single pool. You can manually force things from the command line, but you could end up in a bad way someday.

I have set up a TrueNAS installation in Virtualbox to test it but the system isn't allowing me to mix disks of different sizes in a pool. I'm a total noob so I don't understand if I'm missing some steps or this is just not possible.

If what I want to do is impossible, what would you suggest me, provided that I already have a 3TB drive, that I could buy 4TB drives and that the N36L has a total space for 4 drives (or 5, if I use a USB stick for the operating system)?