What are the chances of a RaidZ1 array failing during rebuild?(and more)

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike360x1

Contributor
Hi guys,

I'm quite new to FreeNAS but I have done my fair share of research. I'm am looking into setting up a home FreeNAS server with 4 Drives in a RAIDZ1 array with sizes of: 500GB,500GB,1TB,3TB.

Context(Don't have to Read):

I understand that this configuration is quite inefficient seeing as I have two low capacity drives paired with two relatively higher capacity (and performance) drives. I am still saving up to buy a few proper WD RED 3TBs to replace the other three disks in the array in the future (the single 3TB is a WD RED).

However, seeing as this machine will be used in a home environment with three other family members, I figure that it shouldn't be a huge deal because ZFS allows for the replacement of old drives with larger capacity drives in the future.

Questions:
Though, my concerns are,

1. Going with this configuration, how much of the drives will be usable space? Does ZFS treat each drive as a 500GB disk giving me a total of only 1TB of space? (give or take).

2. I read on the forums that for a RAIDZ1 array, a max of 1TB per disk is suggested due to the long rebuild times and the chance of failure on another drive during the rebuild. (cause bigger size = longer rebuild times) Should I be concerned? Also, the non WD RED disks aren't designed for NAS use and they may not have the proper warnings or reporting tools that a NAS drive has which may have the drive failing without warning and thus having a greater chance of disk failure during rebuilding.
(I figure the chances are low for a 4 disk setup with a low - moderate use, but I just want to be ABSOLUTELY sure.)

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Does ZFS treat each drive as a 500GB disk giving me a total of only 1TB of space?
Correct.
Should I be concerned?
Depends on how much you value the data. Whatever you do, you'll need backups of anything you care about.