Missing Drive from Pool after replacement

ShadowChaser

Cadet
Hello, this is my first time using TrueNAS as a NAS and I am still unfamiliar with a lot of the tools and functionality presented to me.

Yesterday I simulated a complete drive failure by disconnecting it from my system. I am running a RAIDZ2 on 5 drives and as expected the pool status became degraded.
I put in a different drive and tried to replace it, but ran into the problem described here: https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/replacing-disk-does-not-work-in-truenas-core-v13-0.101381/
I was able to successfully replace the disk with the CLI tool - the resilvering operation happened this morning - but the pool remains degraded as a separate drive has now been removed from the pool so there are still only 4 operational drives as part of this pool. I am very confused on how this could have happened and have no idea what I can do to put the wayward drive back into the pool. Below is an overview of what happened

DrivesOriginal SetupDrive RemovedAfter Resilvering
Bay 1ada1ada1Missing from pool, present in system/gui
Bay 2ada2ada2ada2
Bay 3ada3gptid/xxxxxEmpty
Bay 4ada4ada4ada4
Bay 5ada5ada5ada5
Bay 6Emptyada3 (new)ada3

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Nick2253

Wizard
Your table doesn't really help explain what's going on.

Can you run zpool list and provide the output here?

ShadowChaser

Cadet
Your table doesn't really help explain what's going on.

Can you run zpool list and provide the output here?
1654906662787.png

is this what you are looking for? How do I list the disks in the pool?

Hi @Nick2253. You can use zpool status pool1 to get the status of the pool which will show the disks.

It would be helpful if you gave a rough outline here of the steps you took and when. My best reading of your prior thread is something like
  1. You set up a 5-disk pool in RAIDZ1
  2. You pulled a disk and reformatted it to test drive replacement