Replaced drive, inconsistent device names

Status
Not open for further replies.

budmannxx

Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
120
I had to replace a drive in my pool, and everything went smoothly. I think I must have mistyped a command somewhere, however, because the new drive is listed as "ada0" while the other 5 drives are "gpt/ada#". The pool is healthy and seems to be operating normally. Can anyone confirm if this discrepancy matters at all? I'm on FreeNAS-8.0.4-RELEASE-x64 (10351).

Code:
# zpool status
  pool: freenas
 state: ONLINE
 scrub: none requested
config:

        NAME          STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        freenas       ONLINE       0     0     0
          raidz2      ONLINE       0     0     0
            ada0      ONLINE       0     0     0
            gpt/ada1  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gpt/ada2  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gpt/ada3  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gpt/ada4  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gpt/ada5  ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors


Camcontrol shows all the devices:

Code:
# camcontrol devlist
<SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001>         at scbus6 target 0 lun 0 (ada0,pass0)
<SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001>         at scbus7 target 0 lun 0 (ada1,pass1)
<SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001>         at scbus8 target 0 lun 0 (ada2,pass2)
<SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001>         at scbus9 target 0 lun 0 (ada3,pass3)
<SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001>         at scbus10 target 0 lun 0 (ada4,pass4)
<SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001>         at scbus11 target 0 lun 0 (ada5,pass5)
<ADATA USB Flash Drive 0.00>       at scbus13 target 0 lun 0 (da0,pass6)


But gpart show only has 5 of the 6 HDDs:

Code:
# gpart show
=>     63  7805763  da0  MBR  (3.7G)
       63  1930257    1  freebsd  (943M)
  1930320       63       - free -  (32K)
  1930383  1930257    2  freebsd  [active]  (943M)
  3860640     3024    3  freebsd  (1.5M)
  3863664    41328    4  freebsd  (20M)
  3904992  3900834       - free -  (1.9G)

=>      0  1930257  da0s1  BSD  (943M)
        0       16         - free -  (8.0K)
       16  1930241      1  !0  (943M)

=>      0  1930257  da0s2  BSD  (943M)
        0       16         - free -  (8.0K)
       16  1930241      1  !0  (943M)

=>        34  3907029101  ada1  GPT  (1.8T)
          34          94        - free -  (47K)
         128     4194304     1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
     4194432  3902834703     2  freebsd-zfs  (1.8T)

=>        34  3907029101  ada2  GPT  (1.8T)
          34          94        - free -  (47K)
         128     4194304     1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
     4194432  3902834703     2  freebsd-zfs  (1.8T)

=>        34  3907029101  ada3  GPT  (1.8T)
          34          94        - free -  (47K)
         128     4194304     1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
     4194432  3902834703     2  freebsd-zfs  (1.8T)

=>        34  3907029101  ada4  GPT  (1.8T)
          34          94        - free -  (47K)
         128     4194304     1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
     4194432  3902834703     2  freebsd-zfs  (1.8T)

=>        34  3907029101  ada5  GPT  (1.8T)
          34          94        - free -  (47K)
         128     4194304     1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
     4194432  3902834703     2  freebsd-zfs  (1.8T)
 

ProtoSD

MVP
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
3,348
There was a ticket just opened on this problem and it was closed as "won't fix" because it's supposed to be fixed in 8.2....
 

budmannxx

Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
120
Got it, thanks. Just to be clear though, is this going to cause any problems while I'm still on 8.0.4? Will I need to do anything special when I upgrade to 8.2?
 

ProtoSD

MVP
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
3,348
In your case you will be fine, the other guy can't even replace his drive with using the command line.

You won't need to do anything special to upgrade to 8.2, but the naming of your disks might stay the way they're now.
 

budmannxx

Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
120
OK, great, thank you. Got scared there for a minute. Please ignore my last PM--sorry to hit you from 2 angles on this.
 

konkon

Dabbler
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
27
Hi Bud, how do you copy text from your console? Or is there some way to get the the console over the GUI?
 

Mark Hodgkinson

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 26, 2013
Messages
14
Sorry to bring this old thread back online but its the most relevant I can find. I'm having this exact same problem, replaced a faulty drive and now it lists it as ada3 rather than gpti.


Code:
  pool: Tank
state: ONLINE
  scan: resilvered 1.06T in 7h54m with 0 errors on Tue Apr  8 22:45:58 2014
config:
 
        NAME                                            STATE    READ WRITE CKSUM
        Tank                                            ONLINE      0    0    0
          raidz2-0                                      ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/5ef5c704-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/608cba6d-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/621c8b91-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            ada3                                        ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/65acfc15-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/6734f34c-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0



Any ideas?
 

konkon

Dabbler
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
27
Give up on FreeNAS, I then tried NAS4Free for a while then had odd issues with mounting. BSD is just too problematic. Went for a Asustor, fan-freaking-tastic, 12 months now plug and pay. Given the hours and hours I wasted trying to sort HDD naming and mounting issues with BSD. Life wasted, lesson learnt, commercial solutions are now cheap and well designed.
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
Sorry to bring this old thread back online but its the most relevant I can find. I'm having this exact same problem, replaced a faulty drive and now it lists it as ada3 rather than gpti.


Code:
  pool: Tank
state: ONLINE
  scan: resilvered 1.06T in 7h54m with 0 errors on Tue Apr  8 22:45:58 2014
config:
 
        NAME                                            STATE    READ WRITE CKSUM
        Tank                                            ONLINE      0    0    0
          raidz2-0                                      ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/5ef5c704-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/608cba6d-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/621c8b91-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            ada3                                        ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/65acfc15-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0
            gptid/6734f34c-a863-11e3-a583-001b21b77ff1  ONLINE      0    0    0



Any ideas?

Yeah, you replaced it from the CLI(you bad boy) and not the WebGUI(like you are supposed to). Use the manual! You should replace it from the GUI so that the problem is fixed...
 

david kennedy

Explorer
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
98
Yeah, you replaced it from the CLI(you bad boy) and not the WebGUI(like you are supposed to). Use the manual! You should replace it from the GUI so that the problem is fixed...



Why does freenas use partitions for zfs pools instead of the entire disk as is recommended by Oracle?
Is there a specific advantage do slicing the disk, allocating 2GB /disk to swap and using the rest as the pool? Isn't this more risky then having zfs control the entire disk (as is recommended)?

Per Oracle:

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E23823_01/html/819-5461/gcfog.html

The recommended mode of operation is to use an entire disk, in which case the disk does not require special formatting. ZFS formats the disk using an EFI label to contain a single, large slice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top