Mini ITX build & a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

The_Hitman

Dabbler
Hello,

To start again I'm a complete noob when it comes to FreeNAS, and the only documentation I've ever read about is preparing a jail for rtorrent. Without reading about FreeNAS first :)

Let's start with the build.

Mobo: ASRock J4105-ITX with Intel J4105 CPU. (Very power efficient, but is it too new?)
Case: Chieftec Flyer Series FI-03B 250W (very cheap and PSU is Bronze certified. Can fit 2x 3.5 inch HDD's)
RAM: Crucial 8GB, DDR4, 2133MHz, CL15 SODIMM (non-ECC)
HDD: One Seagate ST4000DM004, 4 TB. (Only 5400 RPM but huge data density and huge cache, should be enough speed for me. If it proves to be reliable I'll buy another one for mirror. If it fails I'll buy a Western Digital one lol :) )
Flash Drive: SanDisk Ultra Fit v2 16GB USB 3.0 (Will boot FreeNAS off of it)

So this is a budget build, most of these components were at a discount and the price was very low (260 Euro/300 USD). Now the noob questions from me :)

- Will this even work? The platform for the J4105 is very new.
- How do I install FreeNAS to the flash drive? Just write the image file from my laptop?
- Where can I find the documentation for the backup of freenas settings (in case the HDD screws up), and setting up: a torrent server, media server, wordpress and automatic backup to an ftp (this is what I intend to do with the build).
- Is the CPU powerful enough to do this? My internet connection is gigabit, and assuming the HDD performance and overheads I expect torrent downloads and ftp up's to happen at around 90 MB/s (ish?)
- Using both RAM without ECC and a single had drive (for now). Is this a bad idea? Should I use Ubuntu instead of FreeNAS?

Dice

Wizard
Hello!
Welcome to the forums.
Will this even work? The platform for the J4105 is very new.
This is a sound concern.
Run a couple of searches on the forum to look for trends in reports of either successes or problems.