micro ATX w/ atom CPU for doc only NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

CLSegraves

Explorer
I'd like to build a small documents NAS to centralize documents on my home network. The idea was to use a micro ATX MB with a dual core atom CPU and a pair of 500Gig drives mirrored. No streaming media, just housing word/excel/pdf/etc. docs rather than keeping them on local desktops.

Is the dual core atom cpu capable of pulling this off or will it be too slow even for this? If the atom isn't the solution, then what is a good low power cpu I can stick on a micro ATX MB to make a low power docs NAS?

Thanks,
Chris

edit: Should have mentioned I have been running FreeNAS on a large home network machine for going on 6 years now and it works flawlessly. It's just that the old machine is a real power hog and was built to stream movies/audio/etc. I no longer do any of that these days (don't even have movie drives in the NAS anymore) and having a big power hog for word docs just isn't something I want anymore.

ser_rhaegar

Patron
What atom CPU and motherboard?

CLSegraves

Explorer
Hadn't got that far (still conceptualizing). If you have suggestions, by all means. I'm just trying to run a pair of 500gig, 2.5", 7200RPM drives in a mirror (preferably ZFS but probably UFS due to CPU capacity).

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Well, without actual hardware, you are just talking about nothing.