Making Truenas products screen reader friendly?

nktech1135

Dabbler
Hi.

First of all an introduction. As people may guess from the thread title i'm blind and use screen reader technology to operate my computer. I'm currently using the nvda screen reader as my primary means of accessing and controlling my computer. I work in IT for a small software services company.
We are looking at truenas products to potentially provide us with a backup solution for our various servers and virtual machines. In researching these products, primarily truenas core, and the recently developing truenas scale i'm coming across one common thread that bugs me. In the design of the UI it doesn't seem like anyone has even really considered the accessibility side of things for screen reader users or other impaired groups.
The reason i say this is the lack of consistancy in how usable/accessible the interface is between truenas scale and core. for example, Some bugs that are in one interface aren't in the other. I'm wondering if there is any way to get this fixed? I'm not a developer so can't do it myself but i would love to work with a developer who can fix things to point out where the issues are. I'm primarily interested in scale at this point as the software stack fits us better than core and it's a still developing product, although if some of the fixes could find there way back to core that would be fantastic.

Anyone want to take on this challenge?

Thanks.

Reactions: ckd

Kris Moore

SVP of Engineering
Administrator
iXsystems
@nktech1135 - Thanks for letting us know! The interface is SCALE is the "new" one, which we plan to make standard across the board in the coming future. If you are finding specific bugs there that make it not usable, please by all means file a ticket on jira.ixsystems.com so we can investigate. At the moment we don't have a real setup here to test screen-reader support, so anybody who can help in that effort would be appreciated.

nktech1135

Dabbler