Mainboard tips for a power-efficient build

Cupcake

Dabbler
Are there any Micro ITX boards in the sub 20W idle consumption region, other than the Supermicro A2SDi-4C-HLN4F?

This board came out 5 years ago. Is there really no better option with a more up-to-date processor, but at the same TDP level? Is MicroITX just too much of a niche? Are there any other manufacturers of mainboards with embedded CPU that I should look into? I checked out Asrock's products, but couldn't find anything interesting that is small and power-efficient.

I have been running an older dual core AMD system for almost 10 years now.
- 6x 4TB WD Red drives
- 16 GB Ram with dubious ECC support (AMD)

This machine uses around 70W-80W when idling, which in my opinion is just too much for a system that sits around doing nothing 99% of the time.

I'm now looking to build something small. I saw the Synology DS620Slim, which has to be the smallest NAS supporting 6 drives, albeit only 2.5 inch drives which is why it's so small. Synology claims that the power consumption goes down to 8 Watts with hibernating harddisks. This got me thinking. I don't want to switch from TrueNAS to Synology. Besides that, the DS620Slim comes with a lousy 2GB or SO-DIMM RAM. But the form factor and the low power consumption of this product are quite interesting nonetheless.

I have been on a mission in the past few weeks now.
- Looking for a MicroATX board, so I can shove it into a smallish Fracal Node 304 case
- Ideally server-grade of course
- Looking for a good ratio of processing power to power consumption

My search keeps ending with the Supermicro A2SDi-4C-HLN4F:
- Quadcore Atom C3558 processor, "up to" 16W TDP. It's not blazing fast, but will for sure be an upgrade from my 10 year old dual core.
- 8 SATA ports, meaning I can connect my existing 6 drives, plus perhaps an SSD for the logs
- DDR4, which is readily available

A2SDi-4C-HLN4F.jpg