LSI 9302-8i using mpt not mpr

CHero

Cadet
Hi all,

Was wondering if anyone could help figure out what's happening and maybe point me in the right direction.
I'm new to Truenas and have installed Scale on my 'old' hardware.
Next to Truenas a new addition to this setup is an LSI 9302-8i card.
I was reading up and couldn't find details about it using the commands I found at first.
Soon I found out it shows up under mpt3sas using the command: dmesg | grep mpt.
As I understood, since this is a SAS3 card it should show up with the command dmesg | grep mpr instead.

So, to conclude..question 1: Am I correct this card should be running under the mpr driver and not mpt as it does now?
And question 2 if the answer to the first is yes...how do I go about seeing what the cause of this is?

When running the command with mpr all it returns is the below:
Code:
admin@truenas[~]$ sudo dmesg | grep mpr
[    1.625569] pstore: Using crash dump compression: deflate

I have done a firmware update on the card, hope this would resolve it.
Firmware update went correctly and the drives do actually work in Truenas.
Details of the card:
Code:
admin@truenas[~]$ sudo sas3flash -listall
Avago Technologies SAS3 Flash Utility
Version 16.00.00.00 (2017.05.02)
Copyright 2008-2017 Avago Technologies. All rights reserved.

Adapter Selected is a Avago SAS: SAS3008(C0)

Num   Ctlr            FW Ver        NVDATA        x86-BIOS         PCI Addr
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

0  SAS3008(C0)  16.00.12.00    0e.01.00.07    08.31.02.00     00:08:00:00

Finished Processing Commands Successfully.
        Exiting SAS3Flash.

My system details:
- Motherboard: ASUS PRIME B450M-A
- CPU: AMD Ryzen 3600x
- Memory: 2x 16GB Kingston ksm32ed8/16HD (Unbuffered ECC)
- PCI card: LSI SAS 9302-8i 12Gb/s 8-port IT-mode
- Drives: 5x 12TB Toshiba, 1x 500GB WD SSD and 1x 120GB WD SSD as boot pool

Thanks!

neofusion

Contributor