LSI 9212-4i flash to IT Mode

SkullDice666

Cadet
I am new to TrueNAS and server stuff in general so please don't be too harsh. I managed to get my NAS up and running but I ran out of SATA ports and I was told on the Discord to get an HBA card. I did a bunch of research and I found this LSI 9212-4i locally for $20. I have already spent most/all of my budget on the storage drives so I couldn't get another one but this looked compatible so I went for it.

I have been trying to flash this card to IT mode. I tried a few different guides but I kept running into dead ends.

I used the following hardware to try to flash it as I don't want to mess with the data that's already on my actual TrueNAS server. There's a lot more at risk in doing so.

Code:
Installation PC
- AsRock Z75 Pro3
- Intel i5-3570K
- 16GB DDR3-1600 (4x4)
- ADATA SU800
- Verbatim 4GB flash drive

Code:
TrueNAS PC
- Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
- Intel Pentium G2120
- 16GB DDR3-1866 (2x8)
- Seagate 600 240GB SSD
- WD Red 4TB (WD40EFAX) x 6
- HP LSI 9212-4i SAS

I started off on this guide because it listed my specific HBA card model.
https://flemmingss.com/how-to-flash-it-mode-firmware-to-hp-lsi-sas-9212-4i-controller-card/

Then I found this one on here:
https://www.truenas.com/community/r...9300-9305-9311-9400-94xx-hba-and-variants.54/

I did confirm that my card was on IR mode.

As I was using the first guide I was able to get to MS-DOS (TrueNAS guide said it is if its black&white) but when I tried to type any command at all it would say "no such file or directory" or "bad command or filename."

Then I added DOS4GW.EXE to usb and it let me do
Code:
megarec -cleanflash 0
but it didn't let me do any "sasflash" commands so based on the TrueNAS guide that means that I need to switch to EFI mode. From there I added EFI shells (v1 and v2) and EFI shell did show up (TrueNAS guide said it would have color) but it says it doesn't

Code:
recognize sas2flsh as an internal or external command 
OR