Looking for constructive suggestions and recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

ProTard

Cadet
Good afternoon (my time) I just joined to get some quick information.

First of all, if you’re reading this I would like to thank you for your time. Second, while I’m a FreeNAS noob, I have been working in the IT field in enterprise environments for over 20 years and would consider myself technical. Third, I haven’t RTFM yet or any or the all-important guides and required sticky threads.

With all that being said... I’m in the process of building up a home lab environment using VMware vSphere and I’m looking for a cost effective 2 or 4 TB centralized storage solution to run virtual machines on. I need it to support both vMotion, Storage vMotion, HA and DRS. And before you ask, no… I’m not a VMware Noob, as I’ve been designing and architecting VMware solutions since back in the 2.x days. I also don’t plan on implementing FreeNAS on a virtual machine or use my environment for anything production related.

I’m trying to determine if I should go with a “free” software solution like FreeNAS, Openfiler, the free version of StarWind, the Microsoft iSCSI Initiator. Or if I should purchase a dedicated NAS appliance from Netgear, Synology, Qnap, etc…

I have four (4) of the identical systems listed below and was thinking of using one of them for FreeNAS and the other three as VMware ESXi hosts. While I believe my hardware meets all the requirements to run FreeNAS, some of threads in the forums have led me to believe that I’ll have to spend day’s tweaking FreeNAS to make it work with multiple ESXi 5.5 hosts and the performance will be slow. Is that true?

HP Z600 Workstation (4 of each)
Intel® Xeon® Processor X5650 6 Core 2.66GHz, 12M cache, 6.40GT/s QPI, DDR3 1333MHz, HT, Turbo
24GB's RAM (PC3-10600 DDR3-1333 ECC Registered DIMMs)
6-SATA 3.0 Gb/s Interface with Integrated SATA 3.0 Gb/s RAID Controller (0/1/5/10)