Looking for advice on a 100TB Zvol

Status
Not open for further replies.

Antairus

Dabbler
I know this will be a Loaded Question, but I am new to FreeNAS and ZFS.

I have a server with 100TB that I am going to bust up into at least 4 20 TB Sections for iSCSI.

Should I just create a 100Tb Zfs2 and split that up or is there a better way?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Arwen

MVP
First off, for iSCSI storage, you should not get above 50% used. With 4 iSCSI volumes at 20TB each, that's 80TB used. So you would need a pool of 160TB to be at 50% used. And that's not including 5 or 10% overhead.

Read up on ZFS terminology. Zfs2 is meaningless. I'd guess, (perhaps wrongly), you meant ZFS' RAID-Z2. That's a poor choice for iSCSI volumes. The recomendation for iSCSI volumes is to use Mirrored vDevs, the more, the better. Meaning don't just use 12TB disks to get to your storage goal. More spindles is more important than size.

Next, performance iSCSI installations are a combination of other things as well. Like amount of RAM and the Ghz of the CPU.

Last, if your setup not read mostly, then a high speed SSD for a SLOG, (Seperate write intent LOG), may be desired.

Antairus

Dabbler
First off, for iSCSI storage, you should not get above 50% used. With 4 iSCSI volumes at 20TB each, that's 80TB used. So you would need a pool of 160TB to be at 50% used. And that's not including 5 or 10% overhead.

Read up on ZFS terminology. Zfs2 is meaningless. I'd guess, (perhaps wrongly), you meant ZFS' RAID-Z2. That's a poor choice for iSCSI volumes. The recomendation for iSCSI volumes is to use Mirrored vDevs, the more, the better. Meaning don't just use 12TB disks to get to your storage goal. More spindles is more important than size.

Next, performance iSCSI installations are a combination of other things as well. Like amount of RAM and the Ghz of the CPU.

Last, if your setup not read mostly, then a high speed SSD for a SLOG, (separate write intent LOG), may be desired.