LongTimeSafety with a parallel Ubuntu Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oekel

Cadet
Hi,
obviously I am very new to this NAS, but I decided to understand the Basics first and than creating my Solution for a 40TB encrypted HomeSystem.

A have listened to some nice Videos to the ZFS topic and I am sure that this will be my choice.
But I have not finished reading the whole FreeNAS handbook (sorry for this, hope you will helf me anyhow).

( 1/2)First of all I have to understand a generall thing. Where does the Encryption start, if I decide to use a zpool? Do I have to encrypt a device and add it to the overlying pool? Or do I put an encryption on one of the FS I create on top of the pool? Which encryters are available? (not the Bits, just the develover packages used for FreeNAS)

(2/2) Second thing is about the compatibility of FreeNAS (BSD) to other Linux Systems. Is there a possible configuration of the pool (with or without encrytion) allowing me to boot a separate OS (Like Ubuntu 14 Desktop with ZFS-on-Linux) and accessing the (encrypted) "Raid" Data with some read/write actions?

Other way round: Can I configure a Linux System with ZFS and boot FreeNAS afterwards to use the WebInterface and all great Shares of the System over the existing Datas?

If not, why should I use FreeNAS instead of a simple Linux ( without the great GUI).

Thanks a lot
Oekel

danb35

Hall of Famer
If you use FreeNAS 9.3, you will use a zpool; there is no decision to be made about that. If you use encryption (which is discouraged unless you have a legal or regulatory need for full-disk encryption), the entire pool will be encrypted. The process works something like this:
  • The disk is partitioned, 2 GB (by default) for swap, and the remainder for ZFS
  • The "remainder for ZFS" is encrypted using GELI
  • The encrypted partition is then added to the pool in whatever way you've specified (stripe, RAIDZ, mirror, etc.)