LACP with TP-Link Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Baconfenix

Cadet
Hello Community,
I'm new with FreeNAS and so far I think it's pretty amazing, but now after using it a while I want to set up a LAGG with LACP (before I was using only one interface).

Hardware I use:
Switch: TP-Link TL-SG2008 (maybe not the best choice)
Gigabyte H97N-Wifi (Onboard: 1 Gbit Atheros + 1 Gbit Intel)

Before going any further, is it pointless/impossible to use the Atheros interface with the Intel interface?

I have tried a while now to get this working (not even ping-able), so I really would like your help.

First of all I tried to configure LACP over shell, but after each restart the settings were gone so I used the "standard" Console setup locally on the machine with "success", I created lagg0, added alc0 (Atheros) and em0 (Intel), deleted the standard Interfaces of em0 and alc0 so only lagg0 is active configured it accordingly to my network (192.168.2.118/24)

ifconfig lagg0 via shell:
Code:
lagg0: flags=8843<UP, BROADCAST, RUNNING, SIMPLEX, MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500 options=4019a<TXCSUM, VLAN_MTU, VLAN_HWTAGGING, VLAN_HWCSUM, TS04, VLAN_HWTSO>

ether fc:aa:14:21:40:14
inet 192.168.2.118 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD, IFDISABLED>
media: Ethernet autoselect
laggproto lacp lagghash 12,13,14
laggport: alc0 flags=1c<ACTIVE,COLLECTING,DISTRIBUTING>
laggport: em0 flags=1c<ACTIVE,COLLECTING,DISTRIBUTING>

Now for the switch (config enclosed).. like I read on different websources the "mode" (screenshot lacp 2) is either active or passiv determined by if the device is managing the LACPDUs or only recieving?! But I don't know in which mode my freeNAS runs, either way I've tried both active and passiv without any luck.
Is there anything else I need to setup on either side?!
Would really appreciate your help :)

Best regards Max (Baconfenix)

Attachments

• lacp 1.png
    lacp 1.png
    35.7 KB · Views: 381
  • lacp 2.png
    lacp 2.png