L2ARC vs Fusion pool

2fanatyk2

Dabbler
Hi,

First of all I've been using forum for over 3 years - but this is my first post, since I really try to do my research before posting new threads. Thanks to all of you for valuable insights and sharing knowledge!

My question is the following: I have 2 sata ssd's (~500MB/s read speed, ~300 MB/s write speed, 256gb and 128gb drives) that I'd like to improve performance of my main server (setup in description). Here's what I'm considering:

Option 1: Just put one or 2 of them as L2arc stripe
Option 2: Mirror them as metadata / small file storage in existing pool (Fusion pool)

In both cases I'd attach each to it's own SATA 6gbps port directly on mainboard.

In your opinion what would give me better results? My usage case is as follows:

I mostly care about video editing performance. Currently in my workflow I dump ~40-50 GB of new video files on the server and edit it straight away. Out of that ~15-20GB are files that end up in final video and I keep working with them, and rest are bad takes - I just watch them once or twice, but they are not used much after that. I guess due to size of my ARC most of project files should end up in RAM and be served straight from there.

Also mind that while the workload seems to be sequential, there are functionalities of my software that run on all project files at once and read just tiny bits of it (e.g. to generate media thumbnails / audio waveforms). Speed of these processes is important to me as well. Usually I have 50-120 files in each project.