Kmem related Panics on system with 2G RAM (yes, another one)

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

TempestDash

Hi, I'm new to FreeNAS entirely but am trying to get my feet wet and learn because I'm tired of dealing with Dynamic drives on W2k8 and the overhead using Windows produces, but I'm running into a few stumbling blocks and searching the forums is getting me a LOT of information on 7.x but I have no idea if this info is still valid for 8.2.

Thus:

My system information is as follows:
Code:
OS Version:	FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE-p2
Platform:	AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
Memory:	1903MB
Load Average:	0.03, 0.17, 0.11
FreeNAS Build:	FreeNAS-8.0.1-BETA4-i386

I have just freshly installed FreeNAS on a speedy 4GB CF card plugged into an CF->IDE adapter and intend to do a 4-drive RAIDZ1 with 1.5 TB drives over SATA.

Without changing any settings, I get an alert during boot warning me that the minimum kmem size is 512MB and that I should add a line to loader.conf to tune. Fine. Initially I ignored that.

After creating my zvol I started copying data and ran into panics every time warning about kmem size.

After searching for hours for what to do about this and having a hell of a lot of trouble getting confident information on 8.x as opposed to 7.x; I decided to add vms.kmem_size and size_max lines to the loader, setting them equal to my RAM size (2G), and disable prefetch.

This caused the system to hang on startup with a warning that there was a problem allocating memory. I jumped into the boot loader and unset the two values concerning kmem and it booted without problem.

I tried half my memory (1G) and that had same result. I tried listing in MB instead of GB (1024M) and that had the same error. I finally tried EXACTLY the minimum stated, 512M.

That booted. The warning went away as well.