Just a quick question regarding RAM

MarkusH

Dabbler
So Im doing a veeam backup currently but its just on one pc, later it will be on 4 at the same time and currently my 16 port switch is only 10/100 which will be upgraded to 10/100/1000 meaning the workload would be more intense if something. So my ram is full with just 1 backup in process, should I upgrade it to 16 (is it the bottleneck)? Or the system just tries to utilise 100% of its resources.

Attachments

• Screenshot_2.png
    Screenshot_2.png
    359.5 KB · Views: 66

T_PT

Dabbler
I'm still quite new to TrueNAS, but that looks normal to me. Most of your RAM is used as your ZFS Cache so it doesn't appear to be struggling with anything (at least on the face of it!).

More RAM will get used up and most likely help performance, but if you're only using a 10/100 switch then I'd guess that has to be your bottleneck.

MarkusH

Dabbler
I'm still quite new to TrueNAS, but that looks normal to me. Most of your RAM is used as your ZFS Cache so it doesn't appear to be struggling with anything (at least on the face of it!).

More RAM will get used up and most likely help performance, but if you're only using a 10/100 switch then I'd guess that has to be your bottleneck
Thanks for the reply and yeah that does seem to be case, so I should just pay to service consumption then?

T_PT

Dabbler
Thanks for the reply and yeah that does seem to be case, so I should just pay to service consumption then?
I'm not sure what you mean by "pay to service consumption" ?

Based on my understanding of what you're doing, I'd suggest the following:
1. Get the switch upgraded if that is only 10/100 as I suspect that will be the current bottleneck (although your screenshot does show 1000BaseT)

2. More RAM - if you can easily add more, then it can only help your system to get to 16GB, but it may not address the current bottleneck