It should be so simple.. How can I access my files outside my LAN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Keyakinan

Dabbler
Hello! I'm not very good with servers but to just connect (securely) to the internet and use Freenas as a NAS folder for my backups shouldn't be THIS hard..

I have a pool(volume) and I can access it through windows ( great success! ).
Now I ONLY want to access it outside of my LAN so I can make backups every day with all my devices!
I've read SO many things (and understand more and more). But there is always something that just doesn't work for me.

What I use:
- upgraded to 11.2 since yesterday (FreeBSD is 11.1?)
- HP ProLiant Gen 8
- Router that supports port forwarding

Does anyone have a good, and above all SAFE solution/ source so I can finally put this to rest?

Thanks so much in advance!

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
What are you trying to backup that is not on your own home network?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

Keyakinan

Dabbler
What are you trying to backup that is not on your own home network?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

My NAS is at my mother's house. So she can backup there. My laptop, mobile, pc are not there ( because I don't live there).

kdragon75

Wizard
Use a VPN tunnel. That or portforward SMB to the NAS and get hacked.

danb35

Hall of Famer
shouldn't be THIS hard
Why shouldn't it be hard? What you're asking for is fundamentally hard. Exposing any portion of your network to the Internet is a risk. There are lots of bad actors out there, and they have lots of tools at their disposal. If you do not take reasonable steps to secure yourself, your network is likely to be attacked, and used as an attack vector to other networks.

The best answer is probably a VPN connection. To do that right, your mother probably needs a different router, one that's capable of acting as a VPN server.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
This router has VPN capability: