Issues with IOMMU groups for VM passtrough.

Lucas VT

Cadet
Hello, this is my first time using TrueNAS.

I'm currently using the version TrueNAS-SCALE-21.08-BETA.2 (latest version at the moment.) kernel 5.10.42+truenas

My setup consists of a MSI mag B550m mortar wifi with a r7 3700x.

The motherboard has 1 PCIx16 (gen4/gen3) configured as x4x4x4x4 with a nvme x4 adapter, those 4 nvmes are set up in a pool. It also has a PCI x8 gen3 where I have a GTX 690 and two PCIx1 gen3, one of them occupied by a Quadro p2000 (I've tried both PCIx1 ports).

What I would like to do is to use the Quadro for the host so the different containers have access to it and passtrough the GTX to a VM.

Now the issue:

On the advanced menu, in the isolation section, the GPUs are correctly listed.

GPU_isolation.PNG

The isolation seems to work as executing nvidia-smi shows only the non isolated GPUs, so I understand that the IOMMU group is ready to passtrough to a VM.

However, we can see that both GPUs, with a lot of other random things, are in the same IOMMU group.
IOMMU_groups.PNG

(the gtx 690 appears twice becasue its a dual chip GPU)

And both GPUs being in the same IOMMU group 18 is giving me this error when trying to use the isolated GPU on a VM:

VM_error.PNG

Full error code:
Code:
Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/middlewared/plugins/vm/supervisor/supervisor_base.py", line 174, in start
    if self.domain.create() < 0:
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 1353, in create
    raise libvirtError('virDomainCreate() failed')
libvirt.libvirtError: internal error: qemu unexpectedly closed the monitor: 2021-10-21T21:55:36.338385Z qemu-system-x86_64: -device vfio-pci,host=0000:08:00.0,id=hostdev0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x6: vfio 0000:08:00.0: group 18 is not viable
Please ensure all devices within the iommu_group are bound to their vfio bus driver.

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred: