Issues importing pool after upgrade to 11.1-RC1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
6
I've been running 11.0-RELEASE for a while with no issues:

Code:
root@freenas:~ # zpool status

pool: tank
state: ONLINE
scan: scrub repaired 0 in 19h1m with 0 errors on Sun Oct 29 19:01:20 2017
config:

NAME		STATE	 READ WRITE CKSUM
tank		ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
  mirror-0  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
	ada0	ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
	ada3	ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
  mirror-1  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
	ada1	ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
	ada2	ONLINE	   0	 0	 0


After upgrading to 11.1-RC1 today, I can't seem to be able to import the pool anymore:

Code:
root@freenas:~ # zpool import

   pool: tank
	 id: 16767591122479508972
  state: UNAVAIL
 status: One or more devices are missing from the system.
 action: The pool cannot be imported. Attach the missing
	devices and try again.
   see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-3C
 config:

	tank					  UNAVAIL  insufficient replicas
	  mirror-0				ONLINE
		ada0				  ONLINE
		ada3				  ONLINE
	  mirror-1				UNAVAIL  insufficient replicas
		11138982346337036453  UNAVAIL  cannot open
		5708867439353899389   UNAVAIL  cannot open


It looks like an issue with GPT/GEOM since 'gpart list ada1' shows nothing on 11.0-RELEASE but returns freenas-swap/freenas-zfs on 11.1-RC1.
 

m0nkey_

MVP
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
2,739
How was your pool created? Normally the drives show up as gptid/<some random uuid>.
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,421
Code:
root@freenas:~ # zpool history tank | grep zpool | head -1
2016-10-21.03:17:31 zpool create -f tank mirror ada0 ada1 mirror ada2 ada3
Did you ever use freenas? Freenas expects that you use the gui. If you used the cli you should just be running normal freebsd.

Also it looks like you are missing 2 disks. Make sure they have power and are connected to sata cables.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
6
Did you ever use freenas? Freenas expects that you use the gui. If you used the cli you should just be running normal freebsd.

This is largely unhelpful. If you read my post, you'll see that I have indeed been using FreeNAS for an extended period of time.

Also it looks like you are missing 2 disks. Make sure they have power and are connected to sata cables.

Again, please read the initial post.
 

m0nkey_

MVP
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
2,739
Code:
root@freenas:~ # zpool history tank | grep zpool | head -1
2016-10-21.03:17:31 zpool create -f tank mirror ada0 ada1 mirror ada2 ada3
It doesn't look like the pool was created FreeNAS. My guess is that the device IDs have changed and are no longer correctly identified. If the pool was created using the gptid's or even labels, this could have been avoided.

When creating a pool in the FreeNAS UI, it should look something like this:
Code:
[root@tardis] ~# zpool history tank | grep zpool | head -1
2016-04-09.17:31:54 zpool create -o cachefile=/data/zfs/zpool.cache -o failmode=continue -o autoexpand=on -O compression=lz4 -O aclmode=passthrough -O aclinherit=passthrough -f -m /tank -o altroot=/mnt tank raidz2 /dev/gptid/7774ead7-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/7822e027-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/78d60ada-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/798309f6-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/7a3c2374-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,421
This is largely unhelpful. If you read my post, you'll see that I have indeed been using FreeNAS for an extended period of time.



Again, please read the initial post.
Ok you want help. Start over and follow the manual because you are using freenas wrong.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
6
It doesn't look like the pool was created FreeNAS. My guess is that the device IDs have changed and are no longer correctly identified. If the pool was created using the gptid's or even labels, this could have been avoided.

When creating a pool in the FreeNAS UI, it should look something like this:
Code:
[root@tardis] ~# zpool history tank | grep zpool | head -1
2016-04-09.17:31:54 zpool create -o cachefile=/data/zfs/zpool.cache -o failmode=continue -o autoexpand=on -O compression=lz4 -O aclmode=passthrough -O aclinherit=passthrough -f -m /tank -o altroot=/mnt tank raidz2 /dev/gptid/7774ead7-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/7822e027-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/78d60ada-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/798309f6-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a /dev/gptid/7a3c2374-fe9a-11e5-aae1-bc5ff4e6c97a

Block devices have not changed. I didn't touch the hard drives and using the 11.0-RELEASE boot environment does work as expected. For some reason, the 11.1-RC1 boot environment is finding gpt information on my ada1/ada2 devices while 11.0-RELEASE doesn't and this is likely the cause for my pool not importing correctly.

It's unclear to me whether this is a FreeBSD issue or a FreeNAS issue.
 

m0nkey_

MVP
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
2,739
or some reason, the 11.1-RC1 boot environment is finding gpt information on my ada1/ada2 devices while 11.0-RELEASE doesn't and this is likely the cause for my pool not importing correctly.
This is because the pool was created incorrectly. Should you have used the FreeNAS UI to create the pool, otherwise you would be in the predicament now.
 

styno

Patron
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
466
While I agree that FreeNAS should be used as an appliance, my experience with ZFS is that it really does not care what the devices are called at the time of import.
In fact you should be able to manually import the pool using any of the available /dev entries via import -d options of the zpool cmd.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top