Recovering data

Status
Not open for further replies.

gearbox

Cadet
Im new to zfs and think i seriously messed up freenas box

I originally setup a pool with raidz using 4 disks. Feeling good about everything i decided to add another USB drive to the pool. I connected with ssh, plugged in a USB drive, did zpool add...

So far so good. i guess while moving though the USB cord got wrapped around my foot, USB disk went flying through the air and smashed hard on the concrete floor.

The pool will not import now.

I quickly ran to best buy and bought a replacement drive, freenas webui is telling me that it cannot find enought free space for the pool.

is it possible to get the data off the drives in the raidz and start over? or is that data gone now? (yes, I should have backed it up before i started messing around but i didn't)

zpool status shows: (after having to issue zpool import -F Forge to get that far)

freenas# zpool status
pool: Forge
state: UNAVAIL
status: One or more devices could not be opened. There are insufficient
replicas for the pool to continue functioning.
action: Attach the missing device and online it using 'zpool online'.
see: http://www.sun.com/msg/ZFS-8000-3C
scrub: none requested
config:

NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM
Forge UNAVAIL 0 0 0 insufficient replicas
raidz1 ONLINE 0 0 0
gpt/ada0 ONLINE 0 0 0
gpt/ada1 ONLINE 0 0 0
gpt/ada2 ONLINE 0 0 0
gpt/ada3 ONLINE 0 0 0​
da1 UNAVAIL 0 0 0 cannot open​

sjieke

Contributor
By adding the USB drive to your pool you lost the redundancy of your 4-disk RAID-Z1, so 1 disk lost == lost pool
A little bit more info:

When you created your 4-disk RAID-Z1, freenas created a Raid-Z1 vdev (virtual device) and a pool 'Forge'. It then added the vdev to the zpool. So your pool 'Forge' has 1 disk for redundancy.