iSCSI data scrubbing & accessibility via console

TrumanHW

Contributor
I have limited experience with iSCSI (though I have used it via TrueNAS).

Without creating an iSCSI share & adding an initiator (PITA on MacOS) my recollection is that the data isn't accessible via the TrueNAS Web interface's console. I'm pretty sure TrueNAS can't R/W in HFS+ of APFS, and even assume it can't R/W in NTFS. If TrueNAS can't R/W using many (or even any) of the FS 'languages' required for a system to use iSCSI ... how can TrueNAS scrub them? As in, how would it know what to checksum if it doesn't know the range (like the $MFT or Catalog in MacOS -- the FS's table of contents if you will) short of inferring objects (files+directories) by "carving" to locate a file's header and footer are from which to identify the range of a file to checksum them in the first place ... as the Peer Machine has block level control over the data.

I hope this makes sense and apologize if my diction or question was difficult to decipher. I did look at the TrueNAS iSCSI section but this is more about how TrueNAS works than how to administrate the system ... so thanks in advance to anyone who can A, understand what I'm asking and B, reply with this obscure question's answer. :smile:

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
TrueNAS guarantees the safety (via redundancy, checksums, and scrubbing) of the underlying zvol block device. TrueNAS doesn't see HFS+, NTFS, or even another ZFS filesystem inside of a zvol - it just sees a series of bits that it will faithfully represent the requested state of. Think of it as a disk that will never return a bad sector.