Is this setup likely to work...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlparsons

Cadet
I've built a server which I will use for small-hours backups and media streaming on a small home network, nothing strenuous so it's built to be quiet and have low power consumption. Psu and cpu are fanless and the case has one very large fan I'll have running at low RPM just to keep some air moving through it without much noise. Not too bothered by HDD noise. My lan is gigabit and I guess it would be nice to make use of that potential but performance really isn't much of a necessity.

My original plan was to run debian/ubuntu headless and administer via SSH which I'm very comfortable with, but having looked at FreeNAS it looks like this will do everything I need with less setup time and a nice web gui. My question is - am I likely to have issues getting it to run on this system? I have lots of experience with linux, limited windows experience, no freebsd experience whatsoever.

Build is made up of some stuff I bought for it but mostly stuff I had already;
  • Western Digital 3.0TB for media
  • Western Digital Red 1TB for backup (will see once-daily use and be powered down the rest of the time, might RAID it with a 1TB partition on the other drive for redundancy)
  • LiteOn 128gb SSD (was going to be used for system partition and swap)
  • StarTech 2 Port PCI Express SATA 6 Gbps
  • MSI J1800I ITX Motherboard with integrated Intel Celeron J1800
  • 8GB non-ECC ram
  • Seasonic 400W 80Plus Platinum Fanless PSU

Services I need are;

• nfs shares (can get away with samba)
  • DLNA/UPNP media server
  • Possibly bit-torrent client, not too worried.
  • Auto-upload to dropbox or ftp backup offsite
Anyone see any obvious showstoppers or issues? I'm happy to do a little messing about to get things working, but if there's a big workload needed to get it going I'll probably fall back to my linux comfort zone. :D

m0nkey_

MVP