Is it possible to install and run Prestashop in FreeNas?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcelo Ruiz

Dabbler
Hi Comunity!
I am new to FreeNas (in fact, I am considering buying a FreeNas Mini for my very small company).
I would like to use FreeNas (among other things) to host a Prestashop website while we update it.
I was read FreeNas uses Jails and some people installed applications that run in FreeBSD (a Preatashop package exists for FreeBSD). One person installed mirrors of Ubuntu repositories making different Jails to comunicate to each other.
Prestashop uses PHP 5.2 or later, MySQL 5.0 or later, Apache web server 1.3 or later or nginx.
Can anyone tell me if this is possible and if so, how complicated would this be?
Thanks!

danb35

Hall of Famer
Apache/nginx, MySQL, and PHP have all been successfully installed in jails. Moreover, there's a FreeBSD package available for prestashop. If you're comfortable with the command line, it shouldn't be too hard, but I haven't seen any discussion here of this particular package. There's a pretty fair writeup on installing the basic dependencies here: https://www.digitalocean.com/commun...ginx-mysql-and-php-femp-stack-on-freebsd-10-1

It's for FreeBSD 10.1 rather than 9.3, but the requirements should be very similar. Once that's up and running, "pkg install prestashop" should take care of installing the prestashop software.

Note that if this is going to be publicly accessible, you'll want to do a pretty good job of locking down the jail against attacks.

Marcelo Ruiz

Dabbler
Thanks for your answer danb35!
Is there a way you would recommend doing this? I mean, do I need different Jails (one for Apache, one for MySQL and one for PHP)? What would you think will be the best future-proof solution?

Pretty much everything that Prestashop needs will be installed in one jail. If you want to attach storage to transfer images or other files that can be done to a directory of your choosing.