Introducing.. me! (and my future build pending your awesome feedback)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dangins89

Cadet
Hello FreeNAS Gurus! My name is Dan, I'm an avid IT enthusiast and network engineer, currently pursuing my Masters of Computer Science. I’ve been reading through the forums for months, this is my first time posting! There’s quite a plethora of information to read and digest. I’ve been trying to be a big boy and figure out my build all by myself, but I still have concerns and would really benefit and appreciate any suggestions or validations you can offer me. I’m sorry ahead of time for the length of this post… but appreciate your feed back!

First, some background on my objective and use-case.. From what I’ve been reading, this does not seem to be the typical home usage.. but I feel like FreeNAS is still the right solution for me. People always seem to specify that a RAID is not a BACKUP.. So, if after you read through this, if you have any recommendations on what does equate to a good backup, I’m really interested in knowing! Now, here are my 3 reasons for this build.

Business Purposes:
I have 4 family businesses, at separate locations (all in NJ, USA). Their total combined business data is under 200GB and consists of Word documents, some images and audio files and some quickbooks, access databases, and other basic office documents. At each office location, I have a primary machine that stores all the data and shares out folders to the other office machines for data access. I would like to maintain a copy of all their data within FreeNAS with a snapshot or three for rollbacks and data recovery from user error. In addition, I want to perform Windows Backups for all computers at each location; this is not a function currently implemented, only business data is backed up.

Extended Family Purposes: