Installation On New USB Stick

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simmers1974

Dabbler
Hi guys i want to install my setup onto a new stick but unsure how this is done. Do i save config in the gui, install freenas to new stick and then upload config and all should be like it was on my old stick.

gpsguy

Yep.

Consider installing FreeNAS on a pair of matched flash drives.

Simmers1974

Dabbler
What would be the benefit, sorry but i'm still a novice with freenas. I've had it installed for over a year but never really messed with it.

gpsguy

Protection against a failed boot device.

You should maintain backups of your configuration, but this is cheap insurance. If you have a spare SATA port, you might want to use a small SSD instead of flash drives. Some users have bad luck with flash drives.

Simmers1974

Dabbler
Ok so i installed freenas 11.0 on my new sticks and uploaded my config and restarted and everything went well.

I have these warnings but not sure what they mean, help would be great on these.

Untitled.jpg

gpsguy

For the first message, you might try this - https://support.ixsystems.com/index...-address-could-not-be-bind-to--using-wildcard

For messages 2-4, read this section of the docs - http://doc.freenas.org/11/install.html#upgrading-a-zfs-pool

FreeNAS 11 introduced a couple of new feature flags (ones you probably wouldn't use). To take advantage of them, you'd need to upgrade your pool.

Were you running, 9.10.x before? And, then upgraded to 11? If you don't upgrade your pool, you can roll back to 9.10, if need be. If you upgrade your pool, you won't be able to roll back. On an upgrade, I'd suggest one wait at least a month or two, before upgrading your pool, just in case you need to roll back to the old version for some reason.

BTW, Google and the FreeNAS docs can be your friends :smile:

Simmers1974

Dabbler