Install macOS High Sierra VM using VNC Not loading the ISO

Status
Not open for further replies.

AVSION

Contributor
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
128
Hi Guys,

When trying to install a macOS High Sierra ISO VM using VNC, it open a shell see attached image.
i have added all the devices correctly and when i try other ISO files its loading the installer with no issues but not with macOS High Sierra ISO.
the file is opening fine when loading on my iMac.

Can you please help solving this issue

Thank you
index.php
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 3.06.15 pm.png
    Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 3.06.15 pm.png
    31.3 KB · Views: 1,886
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
1,258
My guess, I can not be sure about it, is that the ISO is looking for something in particular that is not present in the VM that is on the MAC. It's kinda Apples way of preventing hacintosh's so I know what you need to do to make it work but I would rather not cause an issue with the forum admins/mods. However the below link gives some information that pretty well affirms my belief.

https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/bhyve-iohyve-and-macos.60918/

At present, bhyve in FreeBSD 11 implements UEFI version 2.4 for booting - the latest version is 2.7 so it's a few revs behind. Last time I looked, Apple still uses a modified version of EFI 1.1 - a very old release from 2006, before Intel spun off EFI to the UEFI Forum. There are significant differences between these versions which will cause issues ranging from the inability to see video until the OS has fully booted to complete boot failure.

Additionally, MacOS only supports hardware devices used in Apple products. Success depends on the hardware drivers exposed to the guest OS by bhyve being recognized and supported by MacOS.

So a lot of this is down to "Blame Apple"
 

AVSION

Contributor
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
128
Thanks Mate,

I manage to navigate to the boot manager file and its empty. is that the same issue if i install it ,if possible, via jails or VirtualBox in a jail?

Thank you
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
Have you tried "exit" at the shell prompt (drops out into BIOS options), giving you the chance to look at the boot options? (boot maintenance, boot from file may work)
 

AVSION

Contributor
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
128
Have you tried "exit" at the shell prompt (drops out into BIOS options), giving you the chance to look at the boot options? (boot maintenance, boot from file may work)

Yes i did Thanks,
I manage to navigate to the boot manager file and its empty
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
1,258
You can't install an OS in a jail. A jail in and of itself is just a small self contained OS. And virtualBox on FreeNAS is no longer available. You COULD install a windows or linux system in a jail and then install virtualbox on that but by the time you jump through all the hoops you may as well just bare metal it on another system and be done or find some other way to do what you are attempting to do with the Mac OS. Otherwise just figure out how the rest of the people make a hackintosh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top