Input/output error / NFS server not responding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kai Timmer

Dabbler
Hello,
I'm quite new to Freenas and BSD. With my installation I ran into the following problem.

I'm using freenas nfs shares as a backup space for some servers. All my script does is mount the freenas nfs share and than use rsync to copy a few folders on a regular basis. Freenas/ZFS than does snapshots on the shares.

So far so good, but what I experience is, that I get a lot of these messages:
Code:
rsync: readdir("/mybackup/files/files.txt"): Input/output error (5)

and in dmesg:
Code:
nfs: server freenas.intern.lan not responding, timed out

cat /proc/mounts shows the following mount options
Code:
 nfs rw,relatime,vers=3,rsize=16384,wsize=16384,namlen=255,soft,proto=udp,timeo=60,retrans=20,sec=sys,mountaddr=172.16.4.25,mountvers=3,mountport=726,mountproto=udp,local_lock=none,addr=172.16.4.25

Any ideas on what might be the problem? I'm happy to provide more information on the setup if needed.

D

dlavigne

Does the problem persist if you use -o tcp when mounting the share?

Kai Timmer

Dabbler
Anyone with another idea? Maybe someone pointing me in the right direction? I'm kinda lost here :)

cyberjock

Inactive Account
What's your server hardware and FreeNAS version? ZFS or UFS?

Can you post the script you are using?

Kai Timmer

Dabbler
I'm runnning FreeNAS on an ESXi 5.5 with 4 CPU Cores and 10GB RAM dedicated to the Freenas VM and I'm using ZFS.

A stripped down version of the script looks like this:

Code:
for dir in `find ${BACKUPDIR} -maxdepth 1 -mindepth 1 -type d`
do
  host=$( basename $dir )
  mount -o remount,rw $dir

rsync -a -S --delete-after --fuzzy root@${host}:/simple-backup/ ${BACKUPDIR}/${host}/

mount -o remount,ro $dir
done

Where every folder under $BACKUPDIR is a FQDN of a server where the folder /simple-backup/ should get synced.

ser_rhaegar

Patron