I'm Sorry...Yet Another Transmission Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Digitaldreams

Explorer
I hate to create yet another topic on transmission but I have spent literally 2 days (16 hours) looking for a basic guide that will show me some initial steps on doing a clean install, using the CLI, of transmission daemon in a jail without using the plugin. Since I'm a Linux novice, I'm struggling with some of this. I'm also still trying to find the best method of approach when it comes to storage and directories. I'm pulling my hair out at this point. Here is what I'm thinking and I would greatly, greatly, greatly appreciate advice and guidance. I'm running FreeNAS-9.10.2-U2.

1) I'm going to create a new dataset called "bittorrent" under tank/bittorrent. I plan on trying to just use the transmission web interface from my windows machine to upload and download torrents and files from but I'm NOT planning on using SMB to map the drive. Should the dataset share be Unix or Windows for this case? I intend to have a script or something where the completed files can be automatically moved to another win share that I currently use. My setup is like this. I currently have an SMB share mapped to my Win laptop which is also shared and mounted to my plex jail. So right now, I'm downloading torrents on my laptop straight to the windows mapped drive which is shared with plex. Is there a better solution?

2) From what I read, I need to create 3 directories something like torrents, completed and downloading which I will do as subdirectories under tank/bittorrent. Do I create the sub-directories in the freenas local then mount them to the transmission jail using the FreeNAS jail-storage tab within the GUI or do I create them from within the jail using the CLI? Through all of the guides I have read, they have seriously confused me on this. How should I be approaching this?