Ideal setup for mass storage with different size disks

Hello all,

I am quite new to ZFS, but have been loving it so far! Apologies for the wordy post, I will try bold the TL:DR's but wanted to add the full context as well.

I have two systems, a Proxmox VM host with a 6x3TB RAIDz2 backup array and a Frankenstein monster of a NAS running old PC hardware with a bunch of different size hard drives all in the same vdev in a striped pool for mass storage.

I am looking at resetting up my NAS and was wondering if there is a better way that I should be setting it up.

The NAS's purpose is to store copies of my families movie rips of our physical copies that we digitize. We have a Android smart TV that will be running Kodi and will be pointing to the NAS in order to watch the content. Updating/adding new files would be via a windows machine or adding a USB storage device to the NAS to copy too but dont think TrueNAS has a file manager so not sure if this is possible? I am comfortable with SAMBA but as the TV is Android, it would be great to try NFS to be more native.

Anyhow, the main question I would like to ask is what configuration should I set up for my random mix of hard drives of different sizes for mass storage.

What I am trying to achieve:
  • Mass storage - at least 30TB usable space as this is close to where our library is at
  • Will be writing moderate to large (4GB-30GB) files to the NAS, so any write performance would be great, but most likley will be capped by the 1GBPS ethernet port (There are 2x1GBPS ethernet ports, so wondering if I can bridge the connections in TrueNAS as well but that is for later...)
  • Read speeds need to be at respectable streaming speeds over the network. 4k movies are in the minority, most are 1080p.