IBM M1015 IT flash questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

mw2014

Dabbler
Hi, I have searched Google with no luck.
I have no knowledge of the IBM M1015 so I don't know if the information on Google is correct or not.
I have seen that it doesn't matter what computer I use for flashing the M1015 to only certain computers will work. I have seen that it can only be flashed using a UEIF shell to DOS is fine and it can't be flashed at all on some computers.

I am trying to build a FreeNAS box but my budget is limited. I am purchasing things a little at a time to end up with a very nice NAS (I hope). I am trying not waste money by purchasing anything unless I know it will work.

I have my case, drives and power. The motherboard (and processor/memory) will depend on the ability to get 2 IBM M1015's (production and spare) to work. If I can get them to work I can purchase almost and server motherboard. If not, I am limited to those with 8-10 SATA ports.

I have old (windows XP) working computers that don't have UEIF (I have been unable to find anything stating they do) - Dell Optiplex 755 tower and Gateway GT5228 tower. Can I use either of these two computers using the instructions from http://www.servethehome.com/ibm-serveraid-m1015-part-4/

Convert LSI9240(IBM M1015) to a LSI9211-IT mode
Type in the following exactly:
megarec -writesbr 0 sbrempty.bin
megarec -cleanflash 0
<reboot, back to USB stick >
sas2flsh -o -f 2118it.bin -b mptsas2.rom (sas2flsh -o -f 2118it.bin if OptionROM is not needed)
sas2flsh -o -sasadd 500605bxxxxxxxxx (x= numbers for SAS address)
<reboot>
Done!

OR do I need to get a computer with a UEIF Shell?

I will be using the IBM M1015 in my new build using a Supermicro X9 or X10 or ASUS (not narrowed down yet)

Any help is appreciated
Thanks

mw2014

mjws00

Guru