I am getting 0/0/1000324 Errors on my Badblocks Test. Is that bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike360x1

Contributor
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to FreeNAS but I have done my share of research and prep. I know that one should do a burn in test before putting drives in production. So I followed this guide. Unfortunately thou, being the eager beaver I was, I plugged the drives in and set them up in a pool before I initiated my burn in test. (the forum post never said anything about not mounting them in a pool)

So I ran the short and long smart test on my devices and the started a badblocks test after the previous smart tests completed. I noticed a lot of errors in the form of 0/0/99147 during my last test. I searched this up and noticed that it was alot of corruption errors. Could that be due to FreeNAS writing to the pool as badblocks is running its test?
[Note: the drives are 100% new]

So, I have a few questions about this:
1. Will SMART still be able to passively detect errors? (even with the drives mounted as a pool?)
2. Do I have to redo my badblocks test?
3. Was it the cause of mounting drives as a pool? (If not, what are the other likely causes for so many corruption errors

TL;DR: I unknowingly ran a burn in test with my drives setup in a pool. During the test, Badblocks spit out errors like 0/0/99147 (During the 4th test on a 3TB drive). Is this really bad?

Thanks in advance,
Michael L.

Dice

Wizard
Could that be due to FreeNAS writing to the pool as badblocks is running its test?
IIRC - yes.
2. Do I have to redo my badblocks test?
I would definitely do.
I believe the you'll need to deattach the current pool, or destroy it (if that is easier) for you.

mike360x1

Contributor
What exact command did you use for badblocks testing?
I heard that Badblocks sometimes has a bad time testing large capacity drives (>1TB) so, to fix that, I used this command:

badblocks -b 3072 -ws /dev/adaX

mike360x1

Contributor
IIRC - yes.

I would definitely do.