[How to] Setup pyTivo in a FreeNAS 9.3 Jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vinny Valdez

Cadet
Hello, I don't have write access to the HowTo forum so hope it can be moved by a moderator if found useful.

I am completely new to FreeNAS and FreeBSD. I posted these steps on my blog but now I see they would be more useful in this forum:

If anyone could help me understand how to convert these steps into a packaged plugin I would be grateful.

Steps
  1. In the FreeNAS UI click on Jails → Add Jails → Provide a name such as pyTivo
  2. Select Storage → Add Storage
  3. Select the jail that was just created
  4. Fill in the details to mount a media dataset
    Source: <your dataset with media>
    Destination: <a mount point such as /media>
    Read-Only: Checked (optional, but safer)
  5. Select Jails again, then the name of the jail
  6. Select the Shell button at the bottom of the main pane to open a console
  7. Upgrade the software environment (an upgrade was needed for me, otherwise I received apkg_conflicts_need_conflict error)
    Code:
    pkg upgrade -y
  8. Install ffmpeg and tivodecode needed by pyTivo
    Code:
    pkg install -y ffmpeg tivodecode
  9. Download or point to the latest pyTivo repo. One way could be to clone the pyTivo repo to the jail. Alternatively add a storage mapping to a location with the latest repo and config file exist. I used a directory on my media mount with pyTivo
    Code:
    cd /
    git clone https://github.com/wmcbrine/pytivo
    cd pytivo
  10. Copy the sample configuration file and use it as the pyTivo.conf file
    Code:
    cp pyTivo.conf.dist pyTivo.conf
  11. Edit the pyTivo config file and add relevant details for tivo account details and the ffmpeg binary location to the [Server] section
    Code:
    [Server]
    tivo_mak = <TiVo media access key>
    tivo_username = <TiVo account email>
    tivo_password = <TiVo password>
    ffmpeg=/usr/local/bin/ffmpeg
  12. Create media shares for video or photo media