how to partition zil ssd drive to underprovision ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shannn

Cadet
Hi!
I'm new to BSD (mostly do linux) and new to ZFS. I'm testing FreeNAS for possible use as a store in a SMB setting (about 200 users, NFS, Samba, and shared storage for VM disk images - ESXi )

I've read quite a bit about configuring ZFS and am trying to figure out the steps to underprovision a 100GB ssd drive to use for ZIL. My understanding is that underprovisioning can significantly extend the life of the SSD in this setting.
Soo. say I want to create a 60 GB partition on this drive and then configure that as my zil.. do I use gpart to do this? and then how would I add this to my zpool for use as zil?

Thanks.

shannn

Cadet
Hi!
I'm new to BSD (mostly do linux) and new to ZFS. I'm testing FreeNAS for possible use as a store in a SMB setting (about 200 users, NFS, Samba, and shared storage for VM disk images - ESXi )

I've read quite a bit about configuring ZFS and am trying to figure out the steps to underprovision a 100GB ssd drive to use for ZIL. My understanding is that underprovisioning can significantly extend the life of the SSD in this setting.
Soo. say I want to create a 60 GB partition on this drive and then configure that as my zil.. do I use gpart to do this? and then how would I add this to my zpool for use as zil?

Thanks.

ok. I messed around and found these commands

gpart add -t freebsd-zfs -l myzil -s 60G -b 1M ada1

ada1p1 added
[root@freenas] /mnt/firstvolgpart show ada1
=> 34 195371501 ada1 GPT (93G)
34 2014 - free - (1M)
2048 125829120 1 freebsd-zfs (60G)
125831168 69540367 - free - (33G)

# zpool add firstvol log /dev/gpt/myzil

# zpool status firstvol
pool: firstvol
state: ONLINE
scan: none requested
config:

NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM
firstvol ONLINE 0 0 0
mirror-0 ONLINE 0 0 0
gptid/7e8ec410-8d2a-11e2-9e4e-002219d5eba7 ONLINE 0 0 0
gptid/7eeb60b5-8d2a-11e2-9e4e-002219d5eba7 ONLINE 0 0 0
mirror-1 ONLINE 0 0 0
da2p2.nop ONLINE 0 0 0