How to: Install and configure NzbGet in TrueNas 12.0-RELEASE

davidjt

Dabbler
I am still very new to TrueNas and have been fighting to understand the OS coming from Windows where my server was running with Sonarr, Radarr, and NzbGet. It had been over a month of reading info about jails and fighting with understanding the permissions. Everything would work but the files were not being moved to the destination directory due to permissions. I have it all working now thanks to the post by salsacalientemuy
[HOW TO] Install and configure sonarr, radarr, transmission and sabnzbd (11.3-U3.2).

With his guide, I had Sabnzbd setup with Sonarr but I just rather NzbGet. Forgive my lack of formatting.

Using the above-mentioned guide, the jails were set up first and a pkg install was done for each program. The only issue with this method is that I don't see the installs listed under plugins with the handy "Manage" button. After trying to install NzbGet with this method, I was getting errors with setting up the jail user with chown. I then tried to install NzbGet through the plugin but I could not get Sonarr using a 192.168.... address to make a connection with NzbGet which had an internal IP 172.16...

My solution involved deleting the previous installs and using the plugin manager window.

1. Follow the above guide to create your datasets, users, and ACLs until you get to the part where he starts to install the jails. Set the Collection to Community, find NzbGet and click on install.
1608517788119.png

2. It will go to the jail setup screen. I only gave this a name of nzbget and clicked save. Leave NAT selected. I tried to set this up with DHCP but it would not connect.
The important thing is to set up Sonarr, Radarr, NzbGet, and my choice Emby server the same way. I'm sure PLEX works the same. You will end up with an internal IP in the format of 172.16.0.1 etc. You must use this internal IP when connecting NzbGet to Sonarr.

1608517918188.png