How to expose containers / apps to a vlan !!???

Louis2

Contributor
I am new to apps and containers and struck-ling with them.

One of the issues is that apps / containers should communicate to the outside world via a couple of vlans. For that, I think that I, depending on the situation, need ingress functionallity or a reverse proxy like nginx or traefik (probably nginx).

There is a small video about treaefik setup (https://truecharts.org/charts/enterprise/traefik/how-to), but that one is far to simple. I assumes that:
- you use the truenas ip as revers proxyip and
- are going to replace the truenas gui port numbers
Both not ok, imho

My requirements are different:
- the revers proxy should use its own IP
- that ip is on another vlan than the the truenas gui
- I will probably use multiple proxys, in order to send data to different vlans (but lets start with one)
- ipv6 should be supported

Big question is how to do this?

I played around a bit with settings in the app setup like 'loadballancer ip' (in two ways a.b.c.d and a.b.c.d/24 no idea what is correct), but that does not seems to work.

So the big question is "what does work !!??" to expose the apps/containers to the outside world, given the requirements as described above.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Kubernetes networking is hard and even if you can work out what you want to do, SCALE/TrueCharts will likely not have provided the controls for the bits you need to touch.

There are some hacks that generate the impression that a container is on a different IP than the host, but routing can then be probelmatic, so forget that.

I suggest what you will need to do to get what you're asking for and avoid insanity is:

Create a Bridge and attach to that VLAN.

Create a small VM and connect it to that bridge.

Run your reverse proxy of choice in that VM, pointing it at your Traefik instance.

Louis2

Contributor