Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

How To: change sensor thresholds with IPMI using ipmitool

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,950

Black Ninja

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
What you want is also a stable temp, it doesn't matter much that you are at 35 °C if the temp oscillate between 30 and 40 °C every minute... you're much better at 30 or 40 °C with a rock stable temp.

60 °C is cooking it, even a good quality one. Fans are cheap, drives aren't, and your data is probably priceless...
I agree with you.

60 C is too hot , but still in manufacture operating range. Than's all I am saying.

Fans are cheap but it's not the issue. Most factory build consumer PC have improper cooling by design. I went to 75 C on 1TB WD on Dell 660s, you can't just buy it more fans. I was force to bu a SSD for that Computer cause I knew it HDD will cook like said going to 70 C.

Solution: Buy server chassis or build it yourself(if you know very good what you are doing), cause cooling is very important , not just for the HDD.
 

Kevin Horton

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 2, 2015
Messages
690
@Kevin Horton : Would you care to share some further details on how your cronjob works? (<- newbie lvl plz)
The current version of my script is posted here. It lives at /root/bin/control_hd_temp.pl

I logged into the FreeNAS GUI as root, and created a task to run that script every three minutes.

I'm on the road for a few days, and I don't have access to the GUI via remote access, or I would post a screen shot of the cron task settings.
 

Les Garten

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
13
I was having a Hell of a time when I ran into this problem in a Windows only environment.

The issue was getting access to ipmitool when not around a UNIX/LINUX/FreeBSD type machine.

There is a thread about making an ipmitool binary for windows with Cygwin, that's a pain and really I just don't have the patience for this anymore. Gettin' old and irritable...

Here is the answer though, Dell's Windows utilities tools work great and are basically the compiled Windows binary and libraries from Cygwin for distribution! Score!

Here is the file name to search for: OM-BMC-Dell-Web-WIN in our friend Google. It will show the various version of this "package". Current ver. is 8.1.

This is a self extractor, look in the extraction directory and find the MSI, then install.

Then look in the Dell Directory under Program Fixes(x86) and there is the ipmitool binary and librairies to work perfectly on Winders. I'm using it on Win 10 no problem.

Here's some very useful commands I used to fix FAN1 with a Noctua CPU Cooler setup, set term window to 140 wide or so for readability. I'm also doing this across a VPN WAN, hence the -I Lanplus portion

These commands and the software should put a stake in the heart of this nonsense. Supermicro Tech Support can be way less than useless IMO...

ipmitool -I lanplus -H 192.168.10.250 -U ADMIN -P whatever chassis status

pmitool -I lanplus -H 192.168.10.250 -U ADMIN -P whatever sensor list all

ipmitool -I lanplus -H 192.168.1.5 -U ADMIN -P whatever sensor thresh "FAN1" lower 100 200 300

ipmitool -I lanplus -H 192.168.1.5 -U ADMIN -P whatever bmc reset warm

I was surprised how quick the BMC resets, I was scared though, I am 700 miles away from this server.

Now I'll think about making these a scheduled task in Winders, cause some stuff just doesn't stick for a long time in Supermicro's BMC

I'm having some strange issue where the Username/Passwords get reset back to the defaults every so often, that will screw with your head...

Hope this helps someone who is going nutz trying to fix this...
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,950

Les Garten

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
13
Ipmiutil works fine under Windows, no assembly required.
I never got my head around ipmiutil and was used to using ipmitool, also I liked the sensor output matrix with ipmitool so wanted to pursue that.

Thanx though
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
Can someone please help me? After trying this on my Supermicro X9SCM motherboard I cant seem to get it to work and I have no idea why.


Code:
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor list all                                                                                       
System Temp      | 28.000     | degrees C  | ok    | -9.000    | -7.000    | -5.000    | 80.000    | 85.000    | 90.000           
Peripheral Temp  | 29.000     | degrees C  | ok    | -9.000    | -7.000    | -5.000    | 80.000    | 85.000    | 90.000           
CPU Temp         | 0x8        | discrete   | 0x0700| na        | na        | na        | na        | na        | na               
FAN 1            | 525.000    | RPM        | nc    | 300.000   | 450.000   | 600.000   | 18975.000 | 19050.000 | 19125.000       
FAN 2            | 1575.000   | RPM        | ok    | 300.000   | 450.000   | 600.000   | 18975.000 | 19050.000 | 19125.000       
FAN 3            | na         |            | na    | na        | na        | na        | na        | na        | na               
FAN 4            | 1725.000   | RPM        | ok    | 300.000   | 450.000   | 600.000   | 18975.000 | 19050.000 | 19125.000       
FAN A            | 975.000    | RPM        | ok    | 300.000   | 450.000   | 600.000   | 18975.000 | 19050.000 | 19125.000       
Vcore            | 0.928      | Volts      | ok    | 0.480     | 0.512     | 0.544     | 1.488     | 1.520     | 1.552           
3.3VCC           | 3.392      | Volts      | ok    | 2.816     | 2.880     | 2.944     | 3.584     | 3.648     | 3.712           
12V              | 11.978     | Volts      | ok    | 10.494    | 10.600    | 10.706    | 13.091    | 13.197    | 13.303           
VDIMM            | 1.504      | Volts      | ok    | 1.152     | 1.216     | 1.280     | 1.760     | 1.776     | 1.792           
5VCC             | 5.088      | Volts      | ok    | 4.096     | 4.320     | 4.576     | 5.344     | 5.600     | 5.632           
-12V             | -12.098    | Volts      | ok    | -13.844   | -13.650   | -13.456   | -10.934   | -10.740   | -10.546         
VBAT             | 3.088      | Volts      | ok    | 2.816     | 2.880     | 2.944     | 3.584     | 3.648     | 3.712           
VSB              | 3.328      | Volts      | ok    | 2.816     | 2.880     | 2.944     | 3.584     | 3.648     | 3.712           
AVCC             | 3.408      | Volts      | ok    | 2.816     | 2.880     | 2.944     | 3.584     | 3.648     | 3.712           
Chassis Intru    | 0x0        | discrete   | 0x0000| na        | na        | na        | na        | na        | na               
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN 1” lower 400 500 700                                                               
Valid threshold '1”' for sensor '“FAN' not specified!                                                                             
[root@freenas ~]#


I'm not very good at this kind of stuff but I get the impression that this error is telling me that the "1" in "FAN 1" is not an appropriate value for one of the threshold values. The problem is thats the name of the fan. In all the examples I've seen on this thread the fans are displayed as "FAN1" and not "FAN 1"

I tried several different things with no luck such as "FAN1" "FAN\ 1" "FAN_1" but nothing works

Code:
                                               
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN 1” lower 400 500 700                                                                 
Valid threshold '1”' for sensor '“FAN' not specified!                                                                               
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN1” lower 400 500 700                                                                   
Locating sensor record '“FAN1”'...                                                                                                 
Sensor data record not found!                                                                                                       
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN/ 1” lower 400 500 700                                                                 
Valid threshold '1”' for sensor '“FAN/' not specified!                                                                             
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor thresh “PIZZA” lower 400 500 700                                                                 
Locating sensor record '“PIZZA”'...                                                                                                 
Sensor data record not found!                                                                                                       
[root@freenas ~]# ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN1” lower 400 500 700                                                                   
Locating sensor record '“FAN1”'...                                                                                                 
Sensor data record not found!                                                                                                       
[root@freenas ~]#
 
Last edited:

Kevin Horton

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 2, 2015
Messages
690
Try removing the space between "FAN" and "1". I.e. ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN1” lower 400 500 700
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
Try removing the space between "FAN" and "1". I.e. ipmitool sensor thresh “FAN1” lower 400 500 700
Thanks for the suggestion but I tried that with no luck. I updated my original post to show the things I've tried
 

Glorious1

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
1,065
Maybe try resetting your BMC?
ipmitool bmc reset cold
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,950
It may be a limitation of your BMC (X9 boards use a different BMC than X10/X11 boards). Try ipmiutil.
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
Soooo I kinda screwed up. I was playing around with ipmitool trying to see if there was a way to open the configuration files and manually edit them but I accidentally deleted them somehow. Any idea on how to recover from this?


When I try to get sensor data this is all I get:
Code:
ipmitool> sensor                                                                                                                   
SDRR successfully erased                                                                                                           
Load SDRs from 0x20                                                                                                                 
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
Get SDR 0000 command failed: Requested sensor, data, or record not found                                                           
ipmitool> 



I'm starting to think I was better off with really loud fans lol
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,950
That's a new one. A factory reset of the BMC should do the trick. Maybe changing fan modes if only the fans are affected.
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
This is the command I used which deleted everything

Code:
ipmitool> ipmitool sdr fill sensors


The reason I used this is because the description made me think I would be displaying the SDR repository and not deleting it.

Code:
                                                                                 
                                                                                                                                   
               fill <option>                                                                                                       
                     sensors       Creates the SDR repository for the current                                                       
                                   configuration                                                                                   
                     nosat         Creates the SDR repository for the current                                                       
                                   configuration, without satellite scan                                                           
                     file <file>   Load SDR repository from a file                                                                 
                     range <range> Load SDR repository from a provided list                                                         
                                   or range. Use ',' for list or '-' for                                                           
                                   range, eg. 0x28,0x32,0x40-0x44                                                                   
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
That's a new one. A factory reset of the BMC should do the trick. Maybe changing fan modes if only the fans are affected.
The odd thing is it hasn't effected my fans at all. When I log into the IPMI interface on my web browser everything there is normal. Im not even sure how to reset the BMC. It seems like ipmitool is the only thing that was effected
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,950
What does the IPMI webGUI report, sensors-wise?
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
What does the IPMI webGUI report, sensors-wise?
It reports everything as normal

Code:
    Name  

	
	
		
		
	


	
Status
Reading
System Temp Normal 26 degrees C Peripheral Temp Normal 26 degrees C CPU Temp Uninstall FAN 1 Normal 1875 R.P.M FAN 2 Normal 1950 R.P.M FAN 3 N/A Not Present! FAN 4 Normal 2175 R.P.M FAN A Normal 2100 R.P.M Vcore Normal 0.968 Volts 3.3VCC Normal 3.392 Volts 12V Normal 11.978 Volts VDIMM Normal 1.504 Volts 5VCC Normal 5.088 Volts -12V Normal -12.098 Volts VBAT Normal 3.088 Volts VSB Normal 3.344 Volts AVCC Normal 3.392 Volts Chassis Intru OK
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
16,950
So it probably didn't change anything on the BMC.
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
So it probably didn't change anything on the BMC.
Yea it seems to have only effected ipmitool itself. Although I am not sure if there is a way to recreate the sdr files that went missing. Maybe by deleting and reinstalling ipmitool? But I have no idea how to do that since it came installed with freenas
 

drwoodcomb

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
69
So it probably didn't change anything on the BMC.
I take that back! After reseting the server there is no more sensor data! Either in the webGUI or in ipmitool
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top