How is the disk being used?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AAronoff

Dabbler
FOA, I'm new to FreeNAS and I'm working with an installation that I inherited. It's using v9.2.1.5. (I'll upgrade it later.)

Under Volumes | View Disks, there are three disks installed: two 1 TB Toshiba drives (ada0 and ada1) and one 2 TB Western Digital (ada2).

Under Storage | View Volumes, there is a single volume (A1) with three datasets (followed by "jails"). When I click on the volume name and then the "Volume Status" button, A1 shows "stripe". I presume that's the two Toshiba drives in RAID 0.

How can I confirm that the striped set is, in fact, the two Toshiba drives?

How can I find out how the 2 TB WD disk is being used?

Is there any way to see which datasets are stored on the drives?

TIA for your help.

AAronoff

Dabbler
FOA, thanks for your reply.

Here's the output of zpool status (I'm not sure what "in code tags" means, so I ignored it):
Code:
zpool status
  pool: A1
state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 6h25m with 0 errors on Sun Jun 25 06:25:32 2017
config:
   NAME  STATE  READ WRITE CKSUM
  A1  ONLINE  0  0  0
  gptid/f3275cc1-d1a3-11e3-b9e1-001e8c833578  ONLINE  0  0  0

errors: No known data errors
HTH.

regards, Andy

Last edited:

danb35

Hall of Famer
"In code tags" means that you click the "code" button in the little toolbar above where you type your reply. It inserts tags like this: [ CODE][ /CODE] (but without the spaces). Anything you type between them will have its formatting preserved, making things like zpool status and SMART output much easier to read. But in your case, it's not much of an issue--you only have one disk in the pool. To find out which one it is, the volume status page will give you the disk ID (something like adanp2, probably). From that, you can look at the View Disks screen to see which disk adan is.

danb35

Hall of Famer