How can I add a disk without removing all data?

luk

Cadet
Hello it is my first time making a NAS and I have successfully got TrueNAS running on my computer right now. In my computer I have a 500GB HDD which I would like to make visible to other devices on the network. Everything is completely new to me and I don't know where to start. I tried going to Storage → Pools → Add, and then create a new pool with the 500GB disk. However when I click "create" a prompt comes up saying "The contents of all added disks will be erased.", which I do not want. After that I tried going to Storage → Import Disk, but didn't understand much of how it worked. Is it not, possible to add a disk that already has existing data does creating a storage pool format the disk, why? Is my only option to backup all my other files to another disk, create the pool and then copy them back? What if I had a bigger disk, 12, 14, or even 20TB of data? It doesn't sound reasonable.

I also have two new 10TB disks that I plan to mirror, will I be available to increase the space, or upgrade to e.g raid 6 if I in the future purchase more drives?
I'm reading the documentations for answers and this "https://www.truenas.com/docs/hub/tasks/advanced/extendpool/" seems to answer the above questinon, however I'm not sure. I don't want to make the wrong decision now, that I will regret later in time because I rushed setting everything up correctly.

Thanks a lot!

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
I also have two new 10TB disks that I plan to mirror, will I be available to increase the space, or upgrade to e.g raid 6 if I in the future purchase more drives?
Extending a pool is fine, but it won't change a pool with a mirrored VDEV into a pool with a RAIDZ2 VDEV. You should probably have a look at the ZFS primer material in the resources section, like this one: https://www.truenas.com/community/resources/introduction-to-zfs.111/