SOLVED how about ecc detection/correction/reporting?

Status
Not open for further replies.

diversity

Contributor
not sure if I understood it correctly but as far as I can tell there is no email report when an ecc event happens. If I am mistaken then great, sorry for wasting your time. If indeed still low as priority then why on earth not implement this?

In case this will never be implemented under the guyise of a low priority issue then can we have al least cron job that does exactly that?

pls forgive me but I am not experienced enough yet so if someone could point me to a cron then that would be awesome

diversity

Contributor
ECC uncorrectable shows up on the console window; I know of that much.
I meant getting an email report whenever a corrected error is detected and whenever an uncorrected error is detected.

joeschmuck

Old Man
In my Supermicro system I have no idea how to check on an ECC error, if one ever occured, if it was corrected or not. Email would be a nice touch but I doubt that exists, if it does, I have not seen it. But then again I would not say I'm super savvy when it comes to ECC checking.

jenksdrummer

Patron
TBH, not sure what/where that would get logged within TrueNAS without a lot of research or dropping in a support Q; something you can do ;)

To that; at least with a system (my case, Supermicro boxes) that has an IPMI, that is where those items get logged that are severe enough to warrant actionable items, and those IPMIs can get configured to send email alerts. The operating system CAN flag an ECC corrected and there not be an actual hardware issue; those kinds of issues happen frequently on non-ecc systems and no one bats an eyelash. ECC uncorrectable is generally a module failure; but doesn't instantly mean there is a module failure or that corruption is suspect.

danb35

Hall of Famer
In my Supermicro system I have no idea how to check on an ECC error