Home Use 100TB DIY

Noobie5

Cadet
hi there , i am a complete noob when it comes to building a NAS server , however i am a tech savy have been working with linux,windows,vms networks servers etc for the past 10 years,
i've been reading abit on the forum , however i dont want to do any mistakes & i want a piece of mind therefor i am here posting to hear what you guys have to say .

in general , i'd like to build a NAS server in my home , for home use , all type of file will be stored at the moment i plan to download 50tb of videos and some other crap.

i will probably use SMB , however from what i've read and heard , it has a big flaw which is , single threaded i dont know if the rumors are true , but! if you guys have anything else to suggest i would love to hear .

i am not sure yet what kind of application i will be running , however , i will be tempted to install maybe vms and some other applications . like plex, mail server , maybe nextcloud .
maybe in the far far future allow friends and family to download stuff from it, i yet decided . but at the moment i think of it as a storage place and in the future maybe some time of applications .
i wont use lots of IOPS this is what i think .

about the budget , i have my own small home bussines , instead of paying income taxs i rather build myself a nas server
so instead of paying the gov and i am writing off the nas as an outcome for the bussines , i yet know how much i have to pay in taxs, but a build that is cost effective (the lower the better) this is what i am aiming for , it can be also second hand chasis cpu or what not , i am all ears to learn and follow .

networking , in the near future i guess 5-6 month from now a fiber will be placed with 1Gbps up&down , so no need to be over kill with 40gbps+ network cards, a normal 10G is enough , i will probably use a RJ45 from the router they are going to provide me with .