Highpoint Hardware Raid5 in Freenas 9.1.1 or ZFS

Status
Not open for further replies.

cooper83

Cadet
This is my first time building a NAS and working with raid or freenas so please be gentle!

Here's my specs:
Intel core quad cpu Q6700 @ 2.66ghz w/ 8GB of ram
Highpoint Rocketraid 2720SGL PCI-E Sata/SAS controller with 8 ports
Supermicro superchassis CSE-743T-665B 4U Server Case
Starting with 3 X 3TB Seagate 7200 Barracuda drives..adding in 5 more (currently full..need to add to array first, clean and then add)
Running Freenas x64 9.1.1

My goal:
A dedicated NAS running Freenas with 3 x 3tb drives that I can add additional drives to. (eventually hosting an 8 x 3tb array and a 4 x 2tb array) I have a variety of full 2 and 3tb drives. I would like to move their data into the initial 3 x 3tb raid one by one, clean them, and then add the drive for additional storage in preparation to add the data from the next one. I'll keep doing this until all 8 ports on the hardware card are used with 3tb drives, and then will use the Freenas to create another array for the 2tb drives (I put a 4 hot swap bay into the space on my tower to convert it to a 12 hot swap setup instead of just 8) I'm thinking RAID5 for the 3tb array because I would like to retain as much space as possible and most of the data is just movies and tv shows. I'll use a raid 10 for the 2tb drives and fill it with music, pictures and more sensitive data.

Where I am: