Help ! what have I done _ update from 11.1 u6 train to 11.2 stable

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Please Help !

I updated from 11.1 to 11.2 and lost the ability to see my jails and plugins.

The goal was to update my jails (wardens) to iocage. I did confirm that my plugins are still working.
What should I do now ?
Thanks in Advance
Jeff
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
Have you looked at the legacy web interface?

The upgrade doesn't automatically do anything to your jails, but the new web interface does not show warden jails/plugins.
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Have you looked at the legacy web interface?

The upgrade doesn't automatically do anything to your jails, but the new web interface does not show warden jails/plugins.

Thanks sretalla,

Yes, I did figure out the legacy web interface. I am now trying to figure out how to update my current warden jails to iocage without screwing things up.

Is this the right way ?
iocage create -n "jailname" -p /tmp/pkg.json -r 11.1-RELEASE ip4_addr="vnet0|192.168.1.100/24" defaultrouter="192.168.1.1" vnet="on" allow_raw_sockets="1" boot="on"

Or should I just start from scratch ? ughh
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
Search the internet for "FreeNAS migrate from warden to iocage". The included script in 11.2 works well. Just know you may have to tweak a few things like mount points in the jails. It mostly painless and there are a number of great conversations on the forums here so I won't repeat everything.
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Search the internet for "FreeNAS migrate from warden to iocage". The included script in 11.2 works well. Just know you may have to tweak a few things like mount points in the jails. It mostly painless and there are a number of great conversations on the forums here so I won't repeat everything.

Thanks kdragon75,
I do search and read on the forum, that doesn't mean I "get it" or understand :).

So to start I shut down my sabnzbd jail (warden) and ran
migrate_warden.py -v -j <WARDEN> -p <POOL>

Now I need help with the "few tweaks" I now have the following error when I try to start the iocage in the new UI.

Error: concurrent.futures.process._RemoteTraceback:
"""
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/concurrent/futures/process.py", line 175, in _process_worker
r = call_item.fn(*call_item.args, **call_item.kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 122, in main_worker
res = loop.run_until_complete(coro)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/asyncio/base_events.py", line 468, in run_until_complete
return future.result()
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 82, in _run
return await self._call(f'{service_name}.{method}', serviceobj, methodobj, params=args, job=job)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 75, in _call
return methodobj(*params)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 75, in _call
return methodobj(*params)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 668, in nf
return f(*args, **kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/jail.py", line 541, in start
iocage.start()
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/iocage.py", line 1628, in start
callback=self.callback
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_start.py", line 66, in __init__
self.__start_jail__()
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_start.py", line 503, in __start_jail__
_callback=self.callback)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_common.py", line 81, in logit
_callback(content, exception)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_common.py", line 64, in callback
raise callback_exception(message)
RuntimeError:
Stopped sabnzbd_1 due to VNET failure
"""

The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 161, in call_method
result = await self.middleware.call_method(self, message)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1043, in call_method
return await self._call(message['method'], serviceobj, methodobj, params, app=app, io_thread=False)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 980, in _call
return await self._call_worker(serviceobj, name, *args)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1007, in _call_worker
job,
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 938, in run_in_proc
return await self.run_in_executor(self.__procpool, method, *args, **kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 923, in run_in_executor
return await loop.run_in_executor(pool, functools.partial(method, *args, **kwargs))
RuntimeError:
Stopped sabnzbd_1 due to VNET failure
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
Im no expert but it sounds like a jail network issue. I assume you are getting this error when trying to start the jail?

Can you pride the output of the following?
cat /mnt/iocage/jails/<JAILNAME>/config.json
ifconfig
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Can you pride the output of the following?
cat /mnt/iocage/jails/<JAILNAME>/config.json
ifconfig[/QUOTE]
Sorry for long response

Code:
 "CONFIG_VERSION": "14",
	"allow_chflags": "0",
	"allow_mlock": "0",
	"allow_mount": "0",
	"allow_mount_devfs": "0",
	"allow_mount_nullfs": "0",
	"allow_mount_procfs": "0",
	"allow_mount_tmpfs": "0",
	"allow_mount_zfs": "0",
	"allow_quotas": "0",
	"allow_raw_sockets": "1",
	"allow_set_hostname": "1",
	"allow_socket_af": "0",
	"allow_sysvipc": "0",
	"allow_tun": "0",
	"available": "readonly",
	"basejail": "no",
	"boot": "on",
	"bpf": "no",
	"children_max": "0",
	"cloned_release": "EMPTY",
	"comment": "none",
	"compression": "lz4",
	"compressratio": "readonly",
	"coredumpsize": "off",
	"count": "1",
	"cpuset": "off",
	"cputime": "off",
	"datasize": "off",
	"dedup": "off",
	"defaultrouter": "none",
	"defaultrouter6": "none",
	"depends": "none",
	"devfs_ruleset": "4",
	"dhcp": "off",
	"enforce_statfs": "2",
	"exec_clean": "1",
	"exec_fib": "0",
	"exec_jail_user": "root",
	"exec_poststart": "/usr/bin/true",
	"exec_poststop": "/usr/bin/true",
	"exec_prestart": "/usr/bin/true",
	"exec_prestop": "/usr/bin/true",
	"exec_start": "/bin/sh /etc/rc",
	"exec_stop": "/bin/sh /etc/rc.shutdown",
	"exec_system_jail_user": "0",
	"exec_system_user": "root",
	"exec_timeout": "60",
	"host_domainname": "none",
	"host_hostname": "sabnzbd_1",
	"host_hostuuid": "sabnzbd_1",
	"host_time": "yes",
	"hostid": "00000000-0000-0000-0000-0CC47A693206",
	"hostid_strict_check": "off",
	"interfaces": "vnet0:bridge0",
	"ip4": "new",
	"ip4_addr": "vnet0|192.168.1.3/24",
	"ip4_saddrsel": "1",
	"ip6": "new",
	"ip6_addr": "none",
	"ip6_saddrsel": "1",
	"jail_zfs": "off",
	"jail_zfs_dataset": "iocage/jails/sabnzbd_1/data",
	"jail_zfs_mountpoint": "none",
	"last_started": "none",
	"login_flags": "-f root",
	"mac_prefix": "02ff60",
	"maxproc": "off",
	"memorylocked": "off",
	"memoryuse": "off",
	"mount_devfs": "1",
	"mount_fdescfs": "1",
	"mount_linprocfs": "0",
	"mount_procfs": "0",
	"mountpoint": "readonly",
	"msgqqueued": "off",
	"msgqsize": "off",
	"nmsgq": "off",
	"notes": "warden_id=2",
	"nsemop": "off",
	"nshm": "off",
	"nthr": "off",
	"openfiles": "off",
	"origin": "readonly",
	"owner": "root",
	"pcpu": "off",
	"priority": "99",
	"pseudoterminals": "off",
	"quota": "none",
	"release": "9.3-RELEASE",
	"reservation": "none",
	"resolver": "/etc/resolv.conf",
	"rlimits": "off",
	"securelevel": "2",
	"shmsize": "off",
	"stacksize": "off",
	"stop_timeout": "30",
	"swapuse": "off",
	"sync_state": "none",
	"sync_target": "none",
	"sync_tgt_zpool": "none",
	"sysvmsg": "new",
	"sysvsem": "new",
	"sysvshm": "new",
	"template": "no",
	"type": "jail",
	"used": "readonly",
	"vmemoryuse": "off",
	"vnet": "on",
	"vnet0_mac": "02837e000a0b 02837e000a0c",
	"vnet1_mac": "none",
	"vnet2_mac": "none",
	"vnet3_mac": "none",
	"vnet_default_interface": "none",
	"vnet_interfaces": "none",
	"wallclock": "off"


ifconfig
Code:
root@freenas:~ # ifconfig
igb0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		options=2400b9<RXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6>
		ether 0c:c4:7a:69:32:06
		hwaddr 0c:c4:7a:69:32:06
		inet 192.168.1.106 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
		nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
		media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
		status: active
igb1: flags=8c02<BROADCAST,OACTIVE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		options=6403bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
		ether 0c:c4:7a:69:32:07
		hwaddr 0c:c4:7a:69:32:07
		nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
		media: Ethernet autoselect
		status: no carrier
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
		options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
		inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
		inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3
		inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
		nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
		groups: lo
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		ether 02:67:ee:c8:3f:00
		nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
		groups: bridge
		id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
		maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
		root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
		member: vnet0:3 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
				ifmaxaddr 0 port 8 priority 128 path cost 2000
		member: vnet0:2 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
				ifmaxaddr 0 port 6 priority 128 path cost 2000
		member: epair0a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
				ifmaxaddr 0 port 5 priority 128 path cost 2000
		member: igb0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
				ifmaxaddr 0 port 1 priority 128 path cost 20000
epair0a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		options=8<VLAN_MTU>
		ether 02:0c:d0:00:05:0a
		hwaddr 02:0c:d0:00:05:0a
		nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
		media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
		status: active
		groups: epair
vnet0:2: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		description: associated with jail: sabnzbd_1
		options=8<VLAN_MTU>
		ether 02:83:7e:00:0a:0b
		hwaddr 02:0c:d0:00:06:0a
		nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
		media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
		status: active
		groups: epair
epair0b: flags=8842<BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		options=8<VLAN_MTU>
		ether 02:83:7e:00:0a:0c
		hwaddr 02:0c:d0:00:07:0b
		ether 02:83:7e:00:0a:0c
		hwaddr 02:0c:d0:00:07:0b
		nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
		media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
		status: active
vnet0:3: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
		description: associated with jail: sabnzbd_1
		options=8<VLAN_MTU>
		ether 02:83:7e:00:0a:0b
		hwaddr 02:0c:d0:00:08:0a
		nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
		media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
		status: active
		groups: epair
 
Last edited:

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
Ok so it looks ok but the jail is insanely outdated...
"release": "9.3-RELEASE",
You may consider trying iocage upgrade sabnzbd_1 -r 11.1-RELEASE
Also next time you need to post console output, use the [ code ] tags please.
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
Just a heads up, this is a long and SLOW process. Mine took about 30-40 minutes.
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Ok so it looks ok but the jail is insanely outdated...

You may consider trying iocage upgrade sabnzbd_1 -r 11.1-RELEASE
Also next time you need to post console output, use the [ code ] tags please.

I tried that command and recieved the following error;
Code:
Stopped sabnzbd_1 due to VNET failure
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Gahh you need to start the jail to update it.

Ahhh this line:

You might just need to add a "," between the MAC addresses.

hmmm...tried that and jail still won't start. Same original error.
I really appreciate you trying to help me sort this out.
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
You can try just removing the MACs and they should be regenerated...

Another closer look and I see that vnet0:2 and vnet0:3 both are for sanbdz_1. Is the old jail running? this would cause conflict.
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
You can try just removing the MACs and they should be regenerated...

Another closer look and I see that vnet0:2 and vnet0:3 both are for sanbdz_1. Is the old jail running? this would cause conflict.

All old jails have been shut down and rebooted FreeNas server several times. I removed MAC addresses and it rewrote them and still have same error trying to start jail.
Code:
Error: concurrent.futures.process._RemoteTraceback: 
"""
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/concurrent/futures/process.py", line 175, in _process_worker
	r = call_item.fn(*call_item.args, **call_item.kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 122, in main_worker
	res = loop.run_until_complete(coro)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/asyncio/base_events.py", line 468, in run_until_complete
	return future.result()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 82, in _run
	return await self._call(f'{service_name}.{method}', serviceobj, methodobj, params=args, job=job)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 75, in _call
	return methodobj(*params)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/worker.py", line 75, in _call
	return methodobj(*params)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 668, in nf
	return f(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/jail.py", line 541, in start
	iocage.start()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/iocage.py", line 1628, in start
	callback=self.callback
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_start.py", line 66, in __init__
	self.__start_jail__()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_start.py", line 503, in __start_jail__
	_callback=self.callback)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_common.py", line 81, in logit
	_callback(content, exception)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/iocage_lib/ioc_common.py", line 64, in callback
	raise callback_exception(message)
RuntimeError: 
Stopped sabnzbd_1 due to VNET failure
"""

The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 161, in call_method
	result = await self.middleware.call_method(self, message)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1043, in call_method
	return await self._call(message['method'], serviceobj, methodobj, params, app=app, io_thread=False)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 980, in _call
	return await self._call_worker(serviceobj, name, *args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1007, in _call_worker
	job,
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 938, in run_in_proc
	return await self.run_in_executor(self.__procpool, method, *args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 923, in run_in_executor
	return await loop.run_in_executor(pool, functools.partial(method, *args, **kwargs))
RuntimeError: 
Stopped sabnzbd_1 due to VNET failure

 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
Just remove the MAC, don't re-enter it.
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Just remove the MAC, don't re-enter it.
this is what I changed and saved in the config.json
Code:
"vnet0_mac": "none",

Then when I try to start the jail I get the usually error and then recheck config.json
Code:
"vnet0_mac": "02ff60583da8 02ff60583da9",
 

kdragon75

Wizard
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
2,457
Well merp, I must be missing something.
 

Jeff Lamer

Contributor
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
121
Well merp, I must be missing something.
Darn..Thanks for trying :)

Anyone else have any ideas? anyone specific I could reach out to for help ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top