Help! New install, no web user interface

choyal

Cadet
I am new to TrueNAS, but a 20 year IT vet. I just installed TrueNAS on an old SFF PC I had available (not too old), boots up, gets to the sonsole setup, and gives me all 0 for the IP for the user interface... even though my router shows the machine as receiving an IP address via DHCP. I've tried giving it a static IP, which then shows a web user interface IP address... but it never connects, even with both machines on the same switch (and yes, same subnet, and no, no VLANs involved yet)

I... don't know what the next step in getting this working is, and would appreciate it if someone should give me a shove in the right direction.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Welcome to the forums.

In order to be able to give you assistance, please provide more information about your system. PC hardware is crap, and if you're trying to install on an "old SFF PC", the likelihood is that it uses some halfarsed ethernet chipset that isn't supported. As you may realize, being an IT vet, lots of low end PC hardware is just barely passable working with whatever the current version of Windows is at the time of manufacture.

Please refer to the Forum Rules, conveniently linked at the top of every page in red, for guidance on making a useful summary of your system and the problem.

Generally, interfaces other than Intel and some Broadcoms are problematic in my opinion. If you happen to have something like an Intel desktop CT adapter laying around, give that a shot. Despite the "desktop" label, this is a highly compatible bit of hardware with an excellent Intel-authored driver for FreeBSD that will typically give you full gigabit without all the drama.

choyal

Cadet