SOLVED Help! Deleting files doesn't free up disk space.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Muku

Dabbler
Hello,

I have set up a freenas server a few months ago. I've turned on CISF share and mapped the network drive in windows explorer so that i can transfer files to my freenas server. I can easily copy files from my windows pc to the server through that. no issues so far.

Now

Today I removed a large amount of files (about 500 Gigabytes) from the server to an offsite backup and deleted the files through windows. But I find that the space in my freenas server was not freed up at all, not even by 1KB.

Then

I searched through the forum and learned about snapshots. So, I also deleted the snapshots using Web GUI and even disabled periodic snapshot tasks. But nothing happened still.

I rebooted both my machines but still nothing. My server is just as full as it was before moving the files.

Can any one please help me out on this?
Any help would be appreciated.

N.B. I am total noob with no knowledge of linux or freebsd whatsoever. I also don't know how to use the shell in freenas.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
This is absolutely snapshots. It literally can't be anything else that I can think of. Unless there's some "recycle bin" thing that has to be emptied.

Muku

Dabbler
To my knowledge, I haver never set up any recycle bin function. But if it is enabled by default then I don't know. Any help to get rid of that would be very helpful.

But if its due to snapshot alone then, then deleting the snapshots should have freed up the space right away, isn't it? Why the space is still full?

Muku

Dabbler
Well, found the solution..

The deleted files were stored in a hidden folder named .recyle under the same shared directory. Once I checked the show hidden files in windows box, it became visible and deleting it freed up the space completely.